Women in Islam and Muslim Realms: Women's Organizations

World Hijab Day Organization, Inc. (Non-Profit)

Karamah : Muslim women lawyers for human rights WLUML The resources and publications tab has extensive links to scholarship and policy briefs. Provides many articles on the rights afforded to women under Islam.

Muslim Women's League (topics)(Los Angeles, CA) The Muslim Women's League is a non-profit Muslim American organization working to implement the values of Islam and thereby reclaim the status of women as free, equal and vital contributors to society. Offers a wode range of information on women's issues.

Quantara.de Articles on Muslim women's roles and rights.

Women Living under Muslim Laws Women Living Under Muslim Laws is an international solidarity network that provides information, support and a collective space for women whose lives are shaped, conditioned or governed by laws and customs said to derive from Islam.

Ligue française de la femme musulmane (Paris, France)

The Women's Library and Information Center Foundation "the first and only women related library and archive in Turkey" (Turkish and English)

Women Living Under Muslim Law - WLUML The resources and publications tab has extensive links to scholarship and policy briefs.

The Women’s Islamic Initiative in Spirituality and Equality (WISE) a global program, social network and grassroots social justice movement led by Muslim women. WISE is empowering Muslim women to fully participate in their communities and nations and amplifying their collective voices.

Sisters in Islam Promoting an understanding of Islam that recognises the principles of justice, equality, freedom, and dignity within a democratic nation state.110 One of the most significant developments within Malaysian women's activism has been the rise of the NGO Sisters in Islam (SIS). Formed in 1988

Steal | This | Hijab Steal this Hijab.com is an evolving idea-experiment and affirmation of emancipatory models of communication and organizing. Steal this Hijab.com, inspired by the forms of (eminent) criticism from Abbie Hoffman to Audre Lorde and Shirin Neshat, affirms Herbet Marcuse’s wisdom that “the great refusal takes many forms.”

Women in Black An international network of women committed to peace and actively opposed to war, militarism and other forms of violence. Long involvement with Palestinian rights.

Muslim Women's League US-based organization focused on issues relevant to Muslim women.

United Nations Office for General Equality and the Empowerment of Women--Arab States. UN group devoted to research and policy development as it relates to women around the world. This section focuses on women in the Middle East.

Arab Women's Solidarity Association - includes biographies of notable Arab women, a bibliography organized by subject and a list of relevant books.

Compaign for Afghan Women and Girls - Feminist Majority Foundation

International Muslimah Artists Network (IMAN) organization for Muslim women artists. Includes slides from the first annual art exhibit and an online art gallery.

Kamilat - "non-profit organization that addresses quality-of-life issues faced by Muslim women and their families."

Karamah: Muslim Women Lawyers for Human Rights - offers a discussion list and a mentoring program for lawyers as well as news and a list of publications by members.

NISAA - An Arab Women's Web Site - provides contact information for women's centers and organizations in 9 Middle East countries. Includes a bibliography.

United Nations Development Fund for Women (UNIFEM) - information on programs and events.

Raha Iranian Feminist Collective (New York City, Iran)

Musawah ('equality' in Arabic) is a global movement for equality and justice in the Muslim family. It was launched in February 2009 at a Global Meeting in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia attended by over 250 women and men from some 50 countries from around the globe. Musawah is pluralistic and inclusive, bringing together NGOs, activists, scholars, legal practitioners, policy makers and grassroots women and men from around the world.