Browsing & Searching for Books
The books listed in the different sections below are merely a small selection to help you begin to go in-depth in learning about and researching the topic. The Library owns many more. For a complete listing of all available print and e-books, search the online catalog. You can also find new titles that have recently been added to the Cornell University Library collections in: CUL New Books.
Select Tab [CLICK on each tab below to display contents]
Ottoman Harem - The Male and Female Slavery in Islamic Law = İslâm hukukunda kölelik-câriyelik müessesesi ve Osmanlı'da harem / Ahmed Akgündüz ; translater, Şükran Vahide. Hardcover – 2015.
Translation of the Turkish edition published in 1995. Part One: the distortions and misrepresentations of male and female slavery and the Harem, together with some examples. Part Two: male and female slavery in non-Muslim societies and in other religions. Part Three: the institutions of male and female slavery in Islamic law. Part Four: aspects of the practice of slavery, male and female, in the Ottoman state. Part Five: an investigation of the question: what is the Harem? Part Six: a lady governess's memoirs of the Harem. Part Seven: the replies to a number of important questions on these subjects. Translation of the Turkish edition published in 1995. Part One: the distortions and misrepresentations of male and female slavery and the Harem, together with some examples. Part Two: male and female slavery in non-Muslim societies and in other religions. Part Three: the institutions of male and female slavery in Islamic law. Part Four: aspects of the practice of slavery, male and female, in the Ottoman state. Part Five: an investigation of the question: what is the Harem? Part Six: a lady governess's memoirs of the Harem. Part Seven: the replies to a number of important questions on these subjects.
Osmanlı'da harem ve cariyelik : 19. yüzyıl [Harem ve cariyelik] / metin Dr. T. Cengiz Göncü ; editör Dr. İlona Baytar, Mehmet Ali Güveli. [olin HQ1726.7 .G655 2015]
Osmanlı saray teşkilatı içinde Harem-i Hümâyûn’un kavram olarak hem somut (fiziki7mimari) hem de soyut birer karşılığı vardır. Fiziki bir yapı olarak Harem-i Hümâyûn, padişahın, aile üyelerinin ve onlara hizmet eden cariyelerin yaşadıkları, dışa kapalı bir mekânı temsil ederken, mimari olarak incelendiğinde Osmanlı saray teşkilat, teşrifat ve âdâbın tüm izlerinin, mekâna yansıdığı görünür. ...
Everyday Lives of Ottoman Muslim Women: Hanımlara Mahsûs Gazete (Newspaper for Ladies) (1895-1908) / by Ayşe Zeren Enis. Istanbul : Libra Kitapçılık ve Yayıncılık, 2013. 785 pages [ olin PN5355.T84 H369 2013]
Published for thirteen years (1895-1908), Hanımlara Mahsûs Gazete (Newspaper for Ladies), with its articles and news about education, family, household, household management, child-rearing, hygiene, health, beauty, embroidery, leisure and fashion is a precious source reflecting not only the ideal everyday life of an ideal Ottoman woman of the upper and middle classes of Ottoman society in an era of modernization and westernization but also Sultan Abdülhamid II's oppressive censorship policies as imposed on the press. In this sense, the main argument of this book examines the characteristics of an urban, upper and middle class "ideal" Ottoman Muslim woman or womanhood and her supposed everyday life during the reign of Sultan Abdulhamid II as portrayed by the articles in Hanımlara Mahsus Gazete.
Books Addressing Muslims or Islam in the United States (1965-2022) (Bibliography) [Aziz, Sahar F. and Burress, Cynthia and Hankins, Rebecca, Books Addressing Muslims or Islam in the United States (1965-2022) (Bibliography) (March 1, 2023). Available at SSRN: https://ssrn.com/abstract=2734400].
General Islamic eBooks (Online)
Publication Date: 1978-09-07
First published in 1970, The Cambridge History of Islam is a most comprehensive and ambitious collaborative survey of Islamic history and civilization. On publication it was welcomed as a work useful both for reference and reading, for the general reader, student and specialist alike. It has now been reprinted, with corrections, and for ease of handling the original two hardcover volumes have each been divided into two separate paperbacks.
Islam: A Very Short Introduction by Malise Ruthven
New York : Oxford University Press, 1997.
Chichester, West Sussex ; Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, 2013.
Understanding Islam / by . Publication Date: 2007-02-22. ISBN: 9781906716875
Scholars and Scholarship on Women and Islamic Cultures - A Study of Ph.D. Dissertations: 1960–2002. The focus of the project was to compose as complete a list as possible with author, title, university, topic, date of completion, and abstract of each thesis.
ProQuest dissertations & theses global Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations.
General Islamic Studies Theses
- Access the theses online [Digital islam: Theses on EThOS] Theses via EthOS (UK) Full-Text Doctoral Dissertations on Middle East and Islamic Studies Available Free. Free download of theses after registering (free). "Almost all UK universities make their theses available through the Service."Scholars and Scholarship on Women and Islamic Cultures - A Study of Ph.D. Dissertations: 1960–2002
- Dissertation Abstracts Cornell's Middle East & Islamic Studies Collection
- Supreme Council of Universities (Egypt). Egyptian Universities’ Libraries Consortium. Theses & "Draft Theses"
- Masters and PhD of Egyptian researchers
- Theses under study in Egyptian universities
- Dissertations - Middle East Studies - SAIS Research Guides
- UNESCO Clearinghouse of Electronic Theses and Dissertations "A database of institutions (universities, libraries, computing centers, publishing houses, etc. with ETD [electronic theses and dissertations] projects), experts in the field of ETD, and technical and educational materials availabe on the Web to support and disseminate ETD." http://www.eduserver.de/unesco/
- UNESCO Guide for Electronic Theses and Dissertations For institutions interested in producing e-theses. "a resource for graduate students who are writing theses or dissertations, for graduate faculty who want to mentor ETD authors, for graduate deans who want to initiate ETD programs, and for IT administrators at universities." http://etdguide.org/
- Center for Research Libraries. Foreign Doctoral Dissertations Database CRL, in Chicago, has more than 750,000 foreign doctoral dissertations (from the U.K., France, Sweden, Germany, Netherlands, South Africa, etc.). Members may borrow dissertations. Description of program Use the Keyword (or Author, Institution, Title, etc.) search. http://www-apps.crl.edu/catalog/dissertationSearch.asp
- Dissertation Reviews Founded in 2010, Dissertation Reviews is a site that features overviews of recently defended, unpublished doctoral dissertations in a wide variety of disciplines across the Humanities and Social Sciences. Offers readers a glimpse of each discipline’s immediate present by focusing on the window of time between dissertation defense and first book publication. Each review provides a summary of the author’s main arguments, the historiographic genealogy in which the author operates, and the main source bases for his or her research. The reviews are also anticipatory, making educated assessments of how the research will advance or challenge our understanding of major issues in the field when it is revised and published in the future. Dissertation Reviews also features reviews of and guides to archives, libraries, databases, and other collections where such dissertation research was conducted, to help scholars improve their ability to undertake current and future research.
- Find Open Access Dissertations and Theses
- American Doctoral Dissertations, 1933-1955 is a free database providing access to the only comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities during that time period, the print index Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities. Containing nearly 100,000 citations, American Doctoral Dissertations, 1933-1955, provides full page images of the original print index, and may be searched by author, title, subject and university.
The database was created with the generous support of the H. W. Wilson Foundation and the Congregational Library & Archives in Boston.
Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities was an index complied annually for the National Research Council and The American Council of Learned Societies by the Association of Research Libraries. It was published by the H. W. Wilson Company."
For other aggregations of open access dissertations see:
- EThOS - Electronic Theses Online Service
- DART-Europe E-theses Portal
- List of sources of the scientific search engine BASE
- List of Institutional Repositories
Borrowing Primary Sources from CRL
CORNELL is a member of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), an international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries. CRL acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources from a global network of sources. Most of the materials acquired are from outside the United States, and many are from the emerging regions of the world: Africa, the Middle East, Southeast Asia, South Asia, and Latin America. University of Iowa faculty and students may borrow primary source materials from CRL for extended periods. To identify materials of interest, search the CRL Catalog and then fill out a local "Borrow Direct, Interlibrary Loan (ILL) and Material Requests" for each title you wish to borrow.