Skip to main content

Art History and Visual Studies: A Research Guide: Reference

This research guide to art history and visual studies emphasizes reference resources and databases available to members of the Cornell community through the Cornell University Library.

Oxford Art

Oxford art online

Oxford Art Online is the access point for Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, Oxford Companion to Western Art, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships and a digital image search.

Oxford Art Online Database

Other Art-Related Online Encyclopedias

Benezit

 

Included in Oxford Art Online is the Bénézit Dictionary of Artists (also available in print at the Library Annex). Bénézit includes some auction records in biographical entries on individual artists.

Reference Collections

During the construction of the new Fine Arts Library, the print reference collection is temporarily located in B56 Sibley Hall.

In Olin Library, the print reference collection is located on the first floor.

Examples of resources in print and online include: bibliographies, directories, dictionaries (of symbols, terms, techniques, etc.), a few catalogues raisonnés, subject encyclopedias, guides, handbooks, manuals...

Oxford Bibliographies

Bibliographies on many, many topics (a few pertinent individual titles listed below). Provides introductions to each topic area, and includes guides to introductory works, textbooks, guidebooks, journals, reference works etc., and links to useful websites.

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. 

Help from Oxford: Anatomy of an Article

Bibliographies available at Cornell (bolded titles indicate substantial art-related subject matter):

African Studies American Literature Anthropology Atlantic History
Art History British & Irish Literature Buddhism Chinese Studies
Biblical Studies Classics Communication Criminology
Cinema & Media Studies International Relations Islamic Studies Jewish Studies
Hinduism Latino Studies Linguistics Management
Latin American Studies Military History Music Philosophy
Medieval Studies Psychology Public Health Renaissance & Reformation
Political Science Sociology Victorian Literature  
Social Work