Skip to main content

Women in Islam and Muslim Realms: Help

Research resources for the study of women in Islam; Islam and its ideology dealing with women, Muslim feminism, dress code, family and marriage, women and gender in Islam, etc.

Working with Text in Middle Eastern Languages

Introduction to Research | Cornell University Library 

Student papers and manuscript preparation

Chapter 11 of the Chicago Manual of Style explains how to work with Arabic, Hebrew, Persian and Turkish languages in your publications.

The International Journal of Middle East Studies has an alternative set of rules for manuscript preparation.  See also the IJMES Word List for spellings of common words from Middle Eastern languages.

For spelling vernacular words in English (from the Library of Congress):

Arabic Romanization tables (PDF)

Hebrew Romanization tables (PDF)

Persian Romanization tables (PDF)

Keyboards and Typing

MacOSX: Using System Preferences--Language and Text--Input Sources.  Select your preferred language.
QWERTY layout means letters you type will approximate the letters on the English keyboard ("L" will be "Lam" etc.) 
See Apple OSX Support for information about controlling the direction of the text.

Windows: Using Control Panel--Region and Text--Change Keyboards--Add. Select your preferred language. 
See Microsoft Windows Support for information about changing keyboards, layout, etc.

iOS: Select Settings--General--Keyboard. Arabic, Hebrew and Turkish are available .
For Persian, you'll need to find and download a third party keyboard in the Apple store because it's not supported natively. With an app, you can type in Persian, and copy-paste your text into other applications. 

Don't have an Arabic keyboard?

Arabic Keyboard ™ لوحة المفاتيح العربية This online tools is provided to write and search in arabic for Arab travelers or western users who do not have arabic keyboard.

Yamli - Arabic Search Engine and Smart Arabic Keyboard allows you to do Google searches in Roman characters which are translated on the fly into Arabic. Useful if you need a quick way to get correct spelling of a word in Arabic!

Searching Online & Requesting Reasearch Material

Access Our Library Anywhere! Off-Campus Authentication

 

 

 

Install the PassKey bookmarklet and make access to full-text articles from off-campus quick and easy!

Get more information on how to use PassKey.

If you sign into the Library website from off-campus and access articles that way, you should also be able to get to full-text resources to which CUL subscribes.  

Still can't seem to access the full-text?  See the boxes below for information on getting resources that are not in the Cornell system.

Off-Campus Authentication

The Libraries’ resources are available from off campus to all CORNELL faculty members, staff, students and retirees. To access them, login with your user ID and password. On campus there should be no problem connecting. Off campus, if not logged into anything Cornell, not provided with an IP address that’s authenticating Cornell, you’ll be blocked.  When off campus, first click on something that invokes CUWebLogin—email or something restricted (database, ejournal) through the Library.

Linking to Library Resources

Extended Validation Certificates:

Verify that a web site you are visiting is who it claims to be. If you see green in the address bar in your browser, the web site has an Extended Validation (EV) Cert and it’s encrypted.

Cornell’s CUWebLogin page has an EV cert. To see an example visit any campus service that uses CUWebLogin for authentication. Click the certificate name “Cornell University (US)” to see additional info about the certificate.

Cornell’s EV Certificate in Firefox

ffeula

Cornell’s EV Certificate in Internet Explorer

ieeula

Green EV Certs are more reliable, because a certificate authority has to verify a web site’s identity, before an EV Cert will be issued.


Security Quick Sheet

Help Tools

  • How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography: The Annotated Bibliography: Explanation, Process, Directions, and Examples (Cornell LibGuides)

  • RefWorks - Web-based system to manage your source citations and to create bibliographies and citations in text

  • Citation Machine - Interactive web tool for creating standard bibliographic and in-text citations in APA, Chicago, MLA, and Turabian style formats

  • DocsCite - Online tool to help put government publication citations into proper APA or MLA style format.

Citation Style Guides

Style guides show how to format citations for bibliographies, footnotes, and in-text citations in a consistent format that makes it easy for the reader to locate the source. If your instructor or publisher has not recommended a particular format or style, consult one of the commonly used style manuals, such as: APA, Chicago, MLA or Turabian.

Citing Sources: Style Manuals
Guide to style manuals owned in print format by ASU Libraries and to some online sources.

Research : Citation Management Citation Management Help

Please use  this form to submit questions or comments about citation management tools such as Endnote and RefWorks.

Date Converters

Subject Librarian

Ali Houissa's picture
Ali Houissa
Contact:
174 Kroch Library
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY, 14853
USA
Voice: (607) 254-1614 (607) 255-5752
Fax: 255-6110
ah16@cornell.edu
Website / Blog Page