Skip to main content

Islam in Southeast Asia: Islam: Doctrines, Practices & History in SEA

Muslim Southeast Asia refers to those areas of Southeast Asia that have significant populations of Muslims.

Islam In Southeast Asia

Hajj & SEA

  • Hajj Histories: Stories from Southeast Asian Pilgrims A Cornell professor takes the leap from sundry to spiritual in his quest to discover the ancient Islamic pillar of faith.
  • Hajj by Luitgard Mols (Editor); Marjo Buitelaar (Editor)
    ISBN: 9789088902857
    Publication Date: 2015-02-19
  • Eric Tagliacozzo, 'The Pilgrimage to Mecca from Southeast Asia (Cornell. The SEAP bulletin 2009/10)
  • Records of the Hajj : a documentary history of the pilgrimage to Mecca / [editor, Alan Rush]. London : Archive Editions, 1993. 10 v. : ill., maps ; 26 cm. Olin Library Oversize BP187.3 .R44 1993 +
    • v. 1. Pilgrim prayers, invocations, and rites -- v. 2. The early caliphal, Mamluk, and Ottoman periods (630-1814)-- v. 3. The Ottoman period (1814-1887) -- v. 4. The Ottoman period (1888-1915) -- v. 5. The Hashimite period (1916-1925) -- v. 6. The Saudi period (1926-1935) -- v. 7. The Saudi period (1935-1951) -- v. 8. The Saudi period (since 1952)-- v. 9. Health affairs and the Hajj -- v. 10. Documents and maps (7 on folded leaves in bookcase).
  • The Chinese Hajj [streaming video] / Looking Glass Pictures. New York, N.Y. : Films Media Group, [2014]. Summary: The Hajj, the largest pilgrimage in the world and the fifth pillar of Islam, is a religious duty for every able-bodied Muslim. Follow five Chinese Muslims as they undertake this journey of a lifetime. A major event organized by the Islamic Association of China, this film tells stories of the event’s organizers, pilgrims and service personnel. Using montage editing techniques, the film presents this sacred journey by combining parallel sequences into a unified thread.

Religion & Social Issues

Islam: General

http://ar.lemaghreb.tn/media/k2/items/cache/2500adbea25740e025bcce2dce1688ed_XL.jpgIslam (religion) -- Encyclopedia Britannica
American Religion Data Archive The ARDA collection includes data on USA religious groups (individuals, congregations and denominations). The collection consists of individual surveys covering various groups and topics.
Critical Concepts in Islamic Studies - Taylor & Francis Concepts in Islamic Studies series spans a number of subject areas that are closely linked to the religion. From Islamic Law through to Islam and Globalization, the series includes a whole range of titles under the broad subject heading of Islamic Studies. Upcoming titles include, Tafsir: Interpreting the Qur'an and Early Years of Islam.
The Different Aspects of Islamic Culture  [UNESCO]

Quran القرآن, Qirā'āt & Qur'anic Interpretation (tafsir) روايات, تفاسير


Hadith الحديث (Sunnah كتب السنة)

Praying صلاة, Psalms دعاء, etc.

Hajj (حج), Pilgrimageand Religious Travel

Islamic Law شريعة, Fatwa فتوى/ فتاوى‎ & Ijtihad اجتهاد

School of religious doctrines المذاهب الإسلامية / مدارس عقدية وفقهية

Siyar سير أعلام Biographies

Bibliography

Interkulturelle Koran-Bibliographie / compiled and edited by Ramin Khanbagi. --Nordhausen 2014. ISBN 978-3-88309-900-2. 1002 pages. [English, Spanish, Italian, French,German, Dutch, Norwegian, Danish]. This intercultural bibliography is a cross-national list of Qur'an translations, Qur'an bibliographies and Qur'anic studies within the last thousand years. It is the first compendium collecting 6542 titels in more than 30 European and non-European languages, listing individual studies and journal articles as well as compendia and translations.  This reference book consists of 2 parts: The first part lists all translation of the Qur'ān, including incomplete works, as well as the entire Koran literature in abovementioned languages. The second part consists of 3 registers, making it easier to work with this book: a register of persons, a list of all the titels in alphabetical order and a subject index

Current trends in Islamist ideology (Online)  Journal/Periodical Washington, D.C. : Hudson Institute English