Information
The Echols Collection on Southeast Asia includes more than 80,000 serials volumes and receives more than 4000 active titles. For indexing of journals, see the library guide Periodical Indexes for Southeast, East, and South Asia which includes indexing sources for individual countries as well as for the three regions.
A selection of current research and popular periodicals is located in the Southeast Asia section of the Asia Reading Room periodical shelves. Keep in mind that this selection of titles is a small number of the total current journal subscriptions of the Echols Collection. Please check the library catalog for details on the location and holdings for titles of specific periodicals
The list here contains titles of general-interest Southeast Asia periodicals whose current issues are in the Kroch Library Asia Reading Room. Some have online access as well as print; the "C" indicates Cornell-only access to the online resource.
Periodicals Covering Southeast Asia
- Aséanie: Sciences Humaines en Asie du Sud-EstCall Number: H62.5 A75 A8Publication Date: (Bangkok : Éditions du Centre d'anthropologie Sirindhorn)Print holdings from vol.1, 1997 to most current issue, but there is a c. 3-year delay in getting "current" issue..
- Contemporary Southeast AsiaCall Number: DS 501 C76Publication Date: (Singapore University Press for the Institute of Southeast Asian StudiesPrint holdings from vol.1, 1979 to current. Online via several sources 5/1979 to present.
- Journal of Southeast Asian StudiesCall Number: DS 501 J8586Publication Date: (Singapore, New York, McGraw-Hill Far Eastern Publishers)Print holdings from vol.1, 1970 to current.
- Sojourn: Journal of Social Issues in Southeast AsiaCall Number: HM 1 S68Publication Date: (Singapore : Institute of Southeast Asian Studies)Print holdings from vol.1, 1986 to current. Online via several sources, 2/1986 to present.
- South East Asia ResearchCall Number: DS520 .S65Publication Date: (Brighton, UK : In Print Publishing Ltd)Print holdings from vol.1, 1993 to current. Online 3/1993 to present [JSTOR Arts & Sciences XII; IngentaConnect]
- Southeast Asian StudiesCall Number: DS 520 S717Publication Date: (Center for Southeast Asian Studies, Kyoto University )Print holdings from vol.1, 2012 to current. Online via SEAS-Kyoto web site, 2012-present. Open access.
("Re-launched in 2012 as an all-English journal alongside its sister journal Tonan Ajia Kenkyu: Southeast Asian Studies," print holdings vol.1, 1963-vol. 49, 2012)
Periodical Indexes for Southeast Asia
- Periodical Indexes for Southeast, East and South AsiaThis separate research guide is a more detailed and complete list of periodical indexing sources for the regions and individual countries of Southeast, East, and South Asia.
- Bibliography of Asian StudiesThis on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present; referencing principally western-language articles and book chapters. Conference proceedings and Festschriften are included.
- PERINDCovers 1997 on. indexes periodical literature relating to Singapore, Malaysia, Brunei, and ASEAN. Source documents include 270 core journals with some book reviews, review articles, editorials, letters, speeches, lectures, obituaries, legislative notes and clinical case studies. Also book chapters and conference papers. (The Berita database is no longer being updated and has been taken down.. Most of the journals will be in the PERIND database)
- Thai Journal Index(Technical Information Access Center in Bangkok, the University of Wisconsin at Madison and the Center for Research Libraries in Chicago.) This database will allow researchers to read enough of the article in the Thai script to determine if they wish to request a copy through interlibrary borrowing. The first page of article and a description/abstract can be viewed. See "Browse Collection" link for images and titles of all articles.