Information
Most of the sources listed below are in the Asia Reading Room in Kroch Library. (The "REF" in the call number indicates that it is a reference book.) Otherwise, books are in the Asia book stacks. Items with blue titles are available as e-books -- click on the title.
Maps of Southeast Asia are available in print in the Maps Room (lower level of Olin Library). Use the library catalog, and select the "map" limit on the left of the screen, under Format. This will lead you to maps, atlases and online sources.
- Kroch Library Asia Collections -- country list[Web site for Cornell's Asia Collections] For each country there is a list of sources which include print and online sources, databases, British and U.S. government documents sources, bibliographies, book chapters from edited books (organized by subject).
- Southeast Asia Digital Library[Project of Northern Illinois University] Go to the Country tab. General Information covering country symbols, Constitution, government sites, language, history, culture & religion, politics & social issues, news media, research institutions, travel.
- World Bibliographical SeriesCall Number: REF (various call numbers)Publication Date: various dates ( Oxford, England ; Santa Barbara, Calif. : Clio Press)Located in the dictionary stand in the front of the Asia Reading Room. Volumes for each of the Asian countries -- including all the countries of Southeast Asia -- contain annotated bibliographical entries on wide range of subjects. Some volumes are full-text online.
Southeast Asia -- Background Sources
Historical Dictionary of Ancient Southeast Asia by
.Covering the countries of Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam during the period from the first to the fifteenth century, the Historical Dictionary of Ancient Southeast Asia helps us comprehend the vast and complex history of the region through a chronology, a glossary, a bibliography, an introduction, appendixes, maps, photographs, diagrams, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries.
Call Number: REF DS524 .M56 2007Publication Date: 2007 ( Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press)
Southeast Asia: a Historical Encyclopedia, from Angkor Wat to East Timor by
An in-depth, historical encyclopedia of Southeast Asia, with coverage from prehistoric times to the end of the 20th century for each country in the region. * Over 800 entries covering a wide range of diverse historical topics from the Bataan Death March to the Ramayana * Contributions from an international panel of over 130 scholars. Illustrations, maps, and photographs; chronology, bibliography, and index.
Call Number: REF DS524 .S68 2004 + 3 vols.Publication Date: 2004 (Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO)
Historical Atlas of South-East Asia by
In the first section a chronological survey in succinct form of the history of the area is presented so as to provide the reader with the background information necessary to make adequate use of the second section, [which] portrays the history of South-East Asia in 64 pages of maps which cover such items as the formation of states and empires, the migration of peoples, trade routes, cultural and economic aspects, the rise and decline of colonialism and the political development of the post-colonial era.
Call Number: REF G2361.S1 H5x 1995 +Publication Date: 1995 (New York : E.J. Brill)
Southeast Asia: An Inroductory History by
While giving due regard to the early history of the region, Osborne concentrates on the changes that have taken place since the 18th century ..... . He also provides an introduction to the art of the region and a comprehensive guide to literature about Southeast Asia.
Call Number: DS525 .O82 2016 (12th. ed)Publication Date: 2016 (Crowns Nest, NSW : Allen & Unwin)- Southeast Asian Affairs byCall Number: REF DS502 .S72 + Current ed. in Reference and online; previous eds. on level 1, and online.Publication Date: 1974-- to current (Singapore : Institute of Southeast Asian Studies)Organized by country. "...a comprehensive annual review devoted to the international relations, politics, and economics of the region and its nation-states."
- East and Southeast AsiaCall Number: REF DS502 .F18 + Current edition in Reference; previous eds. on level 1.Publication Date: 2005 to current (Harpers Ferry, W. Va. : Stryker-Post Publications)Organized by country, information includes history, analysis of current politics, overviews of social and economic issues.
Southeast Asia: Past and Present by
Southeast Asia: Past and Present offers a balanced and readable account of the region from ancient to modern times, covering traditional history as well as current events. D. R. SarDesai avoids overemphasizing the importance of the period of European colonial rule as he introduces us to the regions and peoples of {SEA}. The 7th ed. is thoroughly updated.
Call Number: DS525 .S27 2013Publication Date: 2013 ( Boulder, CO : Westview Press)
Southeast Asia in World History by
Here is a brief, well-written, and lively survey of the history of Southeast Asia from ancient times to the present, paying particular attention to the region's role in world history and the distinctive societies that arose... .Lockard shows how for several millennia Southeast Asians, living at the crossroads of Asia, enjoyed ever expanding connections to both China and India, and later developed maritime trading networks to the Middle East and Europe. He explores how the people of the region combined local and imported ideas to form unique cultures ... (discusses also colonialism, independence and nation-building, changing politics, "diverse identities" and economics)
Call Number: DS525 .L65 2009 (online also; click on title)Publication Date: 2009 (Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press)
Dictionary of the Modern Politics of Southeast Asia by
Extensively updated and revised in light of [these] changes and developments, this fourth edition of Dictionary of the Modern Politics of Southeast Asia contains profiles of each Southeast Asian country. Following this, it provides more than 450 alphabetically arranged individual entries providing detailed accounts and analyses on major episodes and treaties, political parties and institutions, civil society movements, and regional and international organizations. Biographies of significant political leaders and personalities, both past and present, are also provided. Entries are comprehensively cross-referenced, and an index by country directs readers to all entries concerning a particular country. The Dictionary also includes an extensive bibliography that serves as a guide to further reading.
Call Number: REF DS526.7 .L56 2015Publication Date: 2015 (Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge)
A Political and Economic Dictionary of South-East Asia by
This Dictionary provides definitions and explanations of economic and political terms and references relating to southeast Asia. The book contains entries covering.... recent history and economy of each country in the region, ethnic groups, political parties and party leaders, politicians, conflicts, regions, border disputes, key businesses and stock markets.
Call Number: REF DS518.1 .T35 2004Publication Date: 2004 (London ; New York : Europa Publications)
Historical Dictionary of United States-Southeast Asia Relations by
Historically, U.S. policy and diplomacy with Southeast Asia has been defined by U.S. interests in the region. Since World War II, the U.S. has constantly been involved in conflicts in the region; ..... declaring that Southeast Asia was the second front in the war on terror after September 11.
Call Number: REF DS 525.9 U6 W44 2008Publication Date: 2008 (Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press)
CONTINUED IN NEXT COLUMN
General Asia Sources which include Southeast Asia
- Far East and AustralasiaEuropa World Plus database. The Far East and Australasia includes a general report on the region. Click on a country on the map for specific information, or choose from the drop- down menu "Countries/Territories." Latest print version, 2018, is in the Library Annex, DS 4 F21.
Columbia Chronologies of Asian History and Culture by Call Number: REF DS33 .C63 2000 + Also full-text online.Publication Date: 2000 (New York : Columbia University Press)
Encyclopedia of Ancient Asian Civilizations by
Covers ancient Asia from the Jomon culture in Japan in approximately 11,000 BCE through to the Cambodian empires that lasted until the 15th century,
Call Number: REF DS12 .H5 2004 +Publication Date: 2004 (New York : Facts On File)
Encyclopedia of Asian History by
This encyclopedia provides a record of the history, geography, politics, culture and peoples of Asia. The 3000 signed articles include 1200 biographies.
Call Number: REF DS31 .E56 + 4 vols.Publication Date: 1988 ( New York, NY : Scribner)
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia
"Focus is on Asia since 1850, but earlier historical information is also provided to show how the past has influenced contemporary topics."
Call Number: REF DS4 .L48x 2002 6 vols.Publication Date: 2002 (New York : Charles Scribner's Sons ; Farmington Hills, MI : Thomson/Gale)
- Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Asian HistoryCollection of articles covering pre-history to contemporary era. Each article includes links to digital materials, reference works, and list of sources for further info. Use "Southeast Asia" in the search box for 172 results that can be further refined in the list of specific subjects.
(Background Sources, cont.)
Encyclopaedia of the South-East Asian Ethnography: Communities and Tribes by Call Number: REF DS523.3 .E53 2004 +Publication Date: 2004 (Deli : Global Vision) 2 vols.
Historical Dictionary of the Peoples of the Southeast Asian Massif by
Dwelling in the highland areas of {SEA} are hundreds of "peoples." Together their population adds up to 100 million. Yet in each of these countries, they are regarded as minorities. This second edition contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 700 cross-referenced entries on about 300 groups, the ten countries they live in, their historical figures, and their salient political, economic, social, cultural and religious aspects.
Call Number: REF DS 524 M55 2016Publication Date: 2016 (Lanhma, Md.: Rowman & Littlefield)
Major Languages of East and South-East Asia by Call Number: REF PL493 .M23Publication Date: 1990 (London : Routledge)Linguistics and writing systems of Japanese, Korean, Sino-Tibetan languages (Chinese & Burmese), Tai languages (Thai), Vietnamese, Austronesian languages (Malay & Tagalog).
Religion in Southeast Asia: An Encyclopedia of Faiths and Cultures by Call Number: REF BL 2050 R43 2015+Publication Date: 2015 (Santa Barbara, California : ABC-CLIO)"This encyclopedia covers the religions and religious traditions of various Southeast Asian countries. Highlights important information about countries, cultures, religious practices, and key figures in 50 sidebars."
