General Sources
Arabic Ontology الأنطولوجيا العربية
A new cross-search dictionary tool from Mustafa Jarrar of Birzeit University. "Linguistic Search Engine: The largest Arabic lexical database:Arabic Ontology + 150 Arabic dictionaries."
The Doha Historical Dictionary of Arabic “The Doha Historical Dictionary of Arabic aims to oversee the compilation of a historical lexicon of the Arabic language as it has developed over the last two millennia. Once completed, the final work will detail the origins of every word in its corpus and record the transformations in each word’s meaning, in addition to the location of its first appearance. To achieve this, the Doha Historical Dictionary of Arabic will rely on an extensive body of primary materials in the Arabic language, drawn from centuries of the Arabic canon.."
Print Dictionaries * قواميس مطبوعة
Print Dictionaries
Crosshatching in Global Culture : a dictionary of modern Arab writers: an updated English version of R. B. Campbell's "Contemporary Arab writers" by Call Number: Uris Library A.D. White Z3014.L56 .C19 2004ISBN: 3899134079Publication Date: 2004-10-01Die Reihe Beiruter Texte und Studien (BTS) ist die Buchreihe des Orient-Instituts fur Grundlagenforschung des historischen und zeitgenossischen Mittleren Ostens. Sie stellt Studien bereit, die auf Primarquellen in Sprachen der Region basieren und bietet thematische sowie methodische Impulse. Dieser Band beinhaltet "Crosshatching in Global Culture - A Dictionary of Modern Arab Writers: An Updated English Version of R.B. Campbell's "Contemporary Arab Writers".
The Unified dictionary of modern literature terms : English, French, Arabic = المعجم الموحد لمصطلحات الآداب المعاصرة : إنجلزي، فرنسي، عربي / The Unified dictionary of modern literature terms : English, French, Arabic = al-Muʻjam al-muwaḥḥad li-muṣṭalaḥāt al-ādāb al-muʻāṣirah : Injilizī, Faransī, ʻArabī 2015. Book Rabat : Arab League Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization, Bureau of Coordination of Arabization, 2015. Text in English, French, and Arabic.
Lisān al-ʻArab لسان العرب. Book Qum, Īrān : Adab al-Ḥawzah, 1405 [1984] Arabic. Olin Library PJ6620 .I135 1984
Fahāris lisān al-ʻArab li-Ibn Manẓūr فهارس لسان العرب لابن منظور 1984-1986 al-Qāhirah, J.M.ʻA. : Dār al-Maʻārif, [1984-1986] Olin Library Oversize PJ6620.I135 F15 +
Muʻjam al-udabāʾ : min al-ʻAṣr al-Jāhilī ḥattá sanat 2002 M. 2003 Book Bayrūt : Dār al-Kutub al-ʻIlmīyah, 2003. Arabic. al-Ṭabʻah 1. Olin Library PJ7521 .J795 2003
The Irshád al-aríb ilá maʻrifat al-adíb; or, Dictionary of learned men of Yáqút 1923-31. Book London : Luzac, 1923-31. English. 2d ed. Library Annex GB51 .Y25 1923
Qāmūs al-adab al-ʻArabī al-ḥadīth 2007. Book Madīnat Naṣr, al-Qāhirah : Dār al-Shurūq, 2007. Arabic. al-Ṭabʻah 1. Olin Library Oversize PJ7521 .Q36 2007 +
al-Muʻjam al-mufaṣṣal fī al-adab 1999. Book Bayrūt : Dār al-Kutub al-ʻIlmīyah, 1999. Arabic. Olin Library PN41 .T87 1999
Lane, Edward William. An Arabic-English lexicon. Lahore : Islamic Book Centre, 1978. *Olin Library Oversize PJ6640 .L26 1863a ++ & Online Library has: pt. 1; pt. 2; pt. 3; pt. 4; pt. 5; pt. 6; pt. 7; pt. 8.
Lane, Edward William. Arabic-English lexicon. Cambridge, England : Islamic Texts Society, 1984. English. Rev. format ed. Olin Library Graduate Study Room 501, Request at Circulation + PJ6640 .L26 1984
A dictionary of modern written Arabic : (Arabic-English). Ithaca, N.Y. : Spoken Language Services, c1994. Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating) PJ6640 .W41 1979 Olin Library PJ6640 .W43 1979
-
الرائد: معجم الفبائي في اللغة و الاعلام byCall Number: R492.73:M424rA:2005
-
Online Dictionaries * قواميس على الانترنت / رقمية
Online Dictionaries
Dictionary of Arabic Literary Terms and Devices by ISBN: 0191836958This new dictionary provides clear definitions of the most important literary terms and devices in classical and modern Arabic literature. It covers technical terms and rhetorical devices, themes and motifs, concepts, historical eras, literary schools and movements, forms and genres, and significant figures and institutions.
The Living Arabic Project [Also includes: Egyptian Colloquial Arabic Dictionary & Levantine Colloquial Arabic Dictionary]
Classical Arabic Dictionary/ The Living Arabic Project
Ectaco.com Arabic-English dictionary
AlJazem (Online): Arabic-English-Arabic dictionary developed by Encyclopædia Britannica; includes pronunciation guide and thesaurus; updated daily.
Lane, Edward William. An Arabic-English lexicon derived from the best and the most copious eastern sources ... London, Williams and Norgate, 1863-93. In two books: the first containing all the classical words and significations commonly known to the learned among the Arabs; the second, those that are of rare occurence and not commonly known.
-
AGGREGATED * General
Arabic Almanac (Powered by Mawrid reader)
Allows searching in Hans Wehr, Lane's Lexicon and J. G. Hava all on a single page, 20 root based Arabic dictionaries in 6 different languages..Mawrid Reader - al-Mawrid etc Allows searching in al-Mawrid and Lughat al Quran.
Lisan al Arab et al Allows searching in text based dictionaries. Still in beta development at present.
-
OllioArabic-English
-
الباحث العربيSearch Major Arabic-Arabic dictionaries such as lisan al Arab, al-Sahah, al-Muhit ..
-
القاموس المحيطالوراق
-
المحيط في اللغةالوراق
-
المعاجمSearch Major Arabic-Arabic dictionaries such as Taj al-Arus, Al-Wasit ...
-
المعاجم في اللغة العربيةAn introduction
-
تاج العروسالوراق
-
لسان العربالوراق
[Arabic literature dictionaries]