General Handbooks & Guides
كتابة البحث العلمي ومصادر الدراسات العربية والتاريخية / عبد الوهاب ابراهيم ابو سليمان
الكتابة الوظيفية والإبداعية / الدكتور: ماهر شعبان عبد الباري
Brockelmann in English: The History of the Arabic Written Tradition Online This online publication is the English translation of Brockelmann's famous Geschichte der Arabischen Litteratur (GAL). Brockelmann's work offers bio-bibliographic information about works written in Arabic and their authors, with an emphasis on the classical period. It is divided in chronologically organized sections, which are subdivided by literary genre. Individual entries typically consist of a biographical section and a list of the author’s works in manuscript and print, with references to secondary literature. Unlike the German original, the English translation spells out all the authors' names, which makes the translation much easier to consult. Minor errors in converted dates have also been corrected. The “Brockelmann” is an indispensable research tool for anyone working on the Islamic world and the Middle East.
Geschichte des arabischen Schrifttums Covers the history of Arabic literature until circa 430 AH (11th century CE), covering Qur'an, poetry, medicine and the sciences, lexicography and grammatical writings. Volumes 1-9 are available from Brill, volumes 10-17 are available from the author, professor F. Sezgin, Institut für Geschichte der Arabisch-Islamischen Wissenschaften, Westendstrasse 89, 60325 Fankfurt am Main, Germany.
The Oxford Handbook of Arab Novelistic Traditions is the most comprehensive treatment of the subject to date. In scope, the book encompasses the genesis of the Arabic novel in the second half of the nineteenth century and its development to the present in every Arabic-speaking country and in Arab immigrant destinations on six continents. The novelistic phenomenon described here has pre-modern roots, stretching centuries back within the Arabic cultural tradition, and branching outward geographically and linguistically to every Arab country and to Arab writing in many languages around the world.
Home of Egyptian & Arab authors on the Web : Authors A to Z
[For non-Arabic references]
The Database of Arabic Literature in Western Research (DAL) is an easy-to-use, searchable, internet-based bibliographic database of Arabic literature in western research. Search Keyword and other Browse links on the left hand bar, as well as Simple Search and Advanced Search, provide easy access to detailed, annotated and content-enriched bibliographic records of books, articles, chapters of books and reviews written in English since the movement of translation and commentary of Arabic literary texts first began in the West.”
Bibliotheca Arabica – Towards a New History of Arabic Literature
Bibliotheca Arabica is dedicated to research on Arabic literatures dating from the years 1150 to 1850 CE, and combines literary and manuscript studies. Within this defined period of investigation, Bibliotheca Arabica focusses on literary production, transmission, and reception, and sets these in relation to the political and social transformations that were taking place at that time.
الوسيط في الأدب العربي وتاريخه
The Interpreter of Arabic Literature and Its History * Al-Wasit fi-al-Adab al-‘Arabi wa-Tarikhih is a textbook in Arabic literature approved for use by the Egyptian Ministry of Education in the various schools under its jurisdiction, namely all teacher-training institutes and secondary schools. The authors were religious and literary figures. The better known of the two, Shaykh Ahmad al-Iskandarī, was born in Alexandria, pursued his studies at al-Azhar, and became a teacher in the schools of al-Fayyūm and other areas around Cairo. He was appointed to the faculty of Cairo University and was elected to the prestigious Arabic Language Academy. He was the author of several textbooks, including a history of Abbasid literature. Shaykh Mustafa ‘Anani appears also to have been a teacher, although not a great deal is known about where he lived and worked. He was the author of a work on the 11th-century Andalusian poet Ibn Zaydun, first published by Dar al-Ma’arif in 1899 and subsequently updated. The current work is the first edition of al-Wasit. It became a standard text in the Arabic curriculum. As is usually the case with Dar al-Ma’arif publications, the book is of a high standard of scholarship and production. The authors cover the history of Arabic literature in all its aspects: poetry, prose, historical narrative, rhetoric, and so forth from pre-Islamic times to their own day. As an important reference in the field, it is supplemented by al-Iskandarī’s multivolume, Muntakhab min Adab al-‘Arab (Selections from Arabic literatureالكتاب : المنتخب من أدب العرب المؤلفون : أحمد الإسكندري ، وأحمد أمين ، و علي الجارم ), published in Cairo 1944−54.