Dispute Resolution Information Online
- Researching Labor Arbitration and Alternative Dispute Resolution In EmploymentExcellent article and annotated bibliography by Laura J. Cooper and Suzanne Thorpe, October 24, 2004.
Government
- Alternative Dispute Resolution HandbookFrom the U.S. Office of Personnel Management, the Guide provides an overall picture of how the most common forms of ADR are being implemented in Federal agencies. It summarizes a number of current ADR programs, and it includes descriptions of shared neutrals programs where agencies have collaborated to reduce the costs of ADR. It provides a listing of training and resources available from Federal and non-Federal sources. It also provides selected ADR-related web sites.
- Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA)The FLRA is an independent administrative federal agency created by Title VII of the Civil Service Reform Act of 1978. The Statute allows certain non-postal federal employees to organize, bargain collectively, and to participate through labor organizations of their choice in decisions affecting their working lives.
- Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service (FMCS)The FMCS provides arbitration and mediation services to industry, communities, and governmental agencies worldwide. Its mission is to improve labor-management relations, promote collective bargaining, and enhance organizational effectiveness.
- National Labor Relations Board (NLRB)The National Labor Relations Board is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1935 to administer the National Labor Relations Act, the primary law governing relations between unions and employers in the private sector. The statute guarantees the right of employees to organize and to bargain collectively with their employers or to refrain from all such activity.
- National Mediation BoardThe NMB is an agency authorized by the Railway Labor Act to promote peace in the railway and airline industries. Select Resources>Knowledge Store to browse collective bargaining agreements.
Books On Grievance Handling and Dispute Resolution
BNA Editorial Staff. Grievance Guide, 12th ed. Washington, D.C.: BNA Books, 2008. A compilation of the "common law" of labor arbitration; gives summaries of actual cases and analyses of trends in such areas as discipline & discharge, union rights, strikes, and sexual harassment. Mauer, Michael. The Union Member’s Complete Guide: Everything You Want—and Need—To Know About Working Union. Wash. D.C.: Union Communication Service, 2001. Answers basic questions about unions and what they do: structure of the labor movement, the grievance process, core labor laws, and more. Good resource for new members or basic reference for officers & staff. [Order from website: http://www.unionist.com/ ] Prosten, David, ed. The Union Steward’s Complete Guide, 2nd ed. MD: UCS, 2006. Hands-on advice on handling grievances and workplace concerns. [http://www.unionist.com/]
ADR Associations
- American Arbitration Association (AAA)Founded in 1926, the American Arbitration Association offers a wide range of services, including education and training, publications and the resolution of a wide range of disputes through mediation, arbitration, elections and other out-of-court settlement techniques. Their site includes a focus area on labor, with rules and procedures, forms, guides, and an overview of their services.
- ArbitralWomenArbitralWomen is an international non-governmental organization gathering women practitioners active in international dispute resolution.
- Association for Conflict Resolution (ACR)The ACR is a professional organization dedicated to enhancing the practice and public understanding of conflict resolution. ACR represents and serves a diverse national and international audience that includes more than 6,000 mediators, arbitrators, facilitators, educators, and others involved in the field of conflict resolution and collaborative decision-making.
- International Institute for Conflict Prevention & Resolution (CPR)CPR is a membership-based, nonprofit alliance of global corporations, law firms, scholars, and public institutions dedicated to the principles of conflict prevention and solution through alternative dispute resolutions. They offer ADR case decisions and practice guidelines, CLE courses, publications and conferences.
- National Academy of Arbitrators (NAA)The NAA is a non-profit professional and honorary organization of arbitrators. Site includes the NAA Code of Professional Responsibility, Proceedings of the Academy, Due Process Protocol and Guidelines, and links to ADR related sites.