Collective Bargaining Resources
- Collective Bargaining FAQs (University of Hawaii)This FAQ explains the basics of collective bargaining law in the private sector, from employees' rights to form a union to holding a union election to mandatory subjects of bargaining. The explanations are clear but brief.
- MU Labor Education Program (Univ. of Missouri--Columbia)This is a set of lectures by Paul K. Rainsberger, director of Univ. of Missouri--Columbia's Labor Education program, on collective bargaining. Topics include: Historical Models, Behavioral Factors Influencing Union Bargaining Power, Effective Negotiations, The Bargaining Climate, Techniques, and The Arithmetic of Collective Bargaining. The lectures are oriented towards labor students and are practitioner-oriented.
- National Center For The Study of Collective Bargaining In Higher Education and The Professions“A clearinghouse and forum for those engaged in the study and practice of collective bargaining (and the related processes of grievance administration and arbitration) in colleges and universities.”.
- Numbers Crunching for Negotiations (UE)The United Electrical, Radio and Machine Workers of America provides this page to help union negotiators cost out contracts.
- UE Information For WorkersCosting out contracts & more.
Collective Bargaining Books
AFSCME. We’re Worth It! An AFSCME Guide to Understanding and Implementing Pay Equity. Wash. D.C.: AFSCME. [also available online at: http://www.afscme.org/news/publications/working-for-government/were-worth-it-an-afscme-guide-to-understanding-and-implementing-pay-equity]
Better, Maurice B. Contract Bargaining Handbook for Local Union Leaders. Washington, D.C.: BNA: 1993. A nuts-and-bolts handbook.
Coalition of Labor Union Women. Bargaining for Family Benefits: A Union Member's Guide. N.Y.: Coalition of Labor Union Women, 1992. Successful programs and contract clauses negotiated by unions across the country. This book is slightly out-of-date and out-of print, but still useful. Check labor libraries for copies.
Spatz, Donald. Contract Costing for Union Negotiators (with CD). MD: USC, 2009.
Find Collective Bargaining Agreements
- DigitalCollections@ILR--Collective Bargaining Agreement CollectionThe Catherwood Library provides full text of many recent collective bargaining agreements through its DigitalCollections@ILR repository. The Collective Bargaining Collection consists of recent contracts that were on file with the U.S. Department of Labor (Bureau of Labor Statistics) and the New York State Public Employment Relations Board. The collection reflects recent, but not usually current contracts. Full text of these contracts can be searched from within the document and from the Internet.
- NYS Governor's Office of Employee Relations: State Labor RelationsText of bargaining agreements between New York State and various unions representing state workers; matrix of “articles” in each contract by topic; salary schedules; negotiated training programs.
- New Jersey Public Sector ContractsNew Jersey public sector contracts, including historical collection that goes back to the 1970's, digitized by Rutger's Carey Library.
- IRLE Labor Contracts DatabaseThis database, originally maintained by UC Berkeley's Institute for Research on Labor and Employment, serves as a directory for the complete text of union contracts. Most of these contracts were found on the public Web in a wide variety of file formats.
**Please note that this collection is no longer active, and it has been moved to the University of California's eScholarship archive. - AFSCME Contracts OnlineLinks to numerous state and AFSCME-created CBA databases containing entire contracts.