UALE Summer School for Union Women : Data & Statistics

A simple guide to understanding basic statistics, for journalists and other writers who might not know math.

Although existing tools, such as the New York State (NYS) Department of Labor’s (DOL’s) interactive Occupational Wages data visualization, allow users to find typical wages and wage ranges by job and labor market region in NYS, such tools do not offer opportunities to explore and quantify wage disparities by race-ethnicity, gender, age, or related demographic and household characteristics. The Cornell ILR Wage Atlas seeks to begin filling this gap with tools that enable users — policymakers, advocates, grassroots organizations, researchers, planners, and economic development practitioners, among others — to identify disparities in earnings, and disparities in earning a living wage, by a host of demographic and geographic variables.

EBRI promotes the understanding and furtherance of employee benefits national policy. It is a neutral organization that does objective research on employee benefit programs and public policy with regard to employee benefits. Additional electronic content is available at the ILR Library. Please ask for assistance at the ILR Reference Desk.

FreeERISA provides free access to all form 5500s filed with the Department of Labor over the past two years, which include data on retirement, health, life, and other benefits plans from more than 1 million U.S. companies.

Developed by researchers at MIT, the Living Wage Calculator estimates the the cost of living in your community or region and lists typical expenses, the living wage and typical wages for the selected location.

Compare the cost of living in hundreds of U.S. and International cities. Provides state tax tables. Crime indexes for 500 cities. Interstate moving costs. Insurance premium estimates. Mortgage recommendations. Compute loan amount for which you may qualify. Plan your move with a custom timeline. Other interesting information, including a Salary Calculator, for planning a move.

Recommended site for finding authoritative and current information on U.S. pay and benefits. The BLS has various surveys that report on employee compensation. They are described on this site.

Access public pension indicators, outlooks and expenditures, from an international perspective.

Developed by The Center for State and Local Government Excellence and the Center for Retirement Research at Boston College, "the PPD contains comprehensive financial, governance, and plan design information for 126 state and local defined benefit plans, along with additional data on state defined contribution plans."

Salary.com is an online compensation information for individuals, business managers and human resource professionals. Salary information is available through compensation surveys and the Salary Wizard, Salary.com's compensation tool. In addition to compensation data, editorial content on compensation advice, negotiation tactics and news specific to the compensation marketplace are also provided.

Find summary statistics on NLRB activity, including decisions, court reviews, elections, unfair labor practices, etc.. (from 1936-2009)

(Information about database. Database must be requested.) The ILO has created a database on trade union membership. It contains data for 45 countries from 1990-Available in Excel files on request from the ILO Bureau of Statistics.

Recent election results from the NLRB

Find recent statistics on NLRB certification and decertification elections. Variables include geographic location, industry, bargaining unit size, as well as election results.

This January release is the main government source for statistics on U. S. labor union membership and density.

Source for information on membership and finances of individual unions. From the U. S. Department of Labor.

The Union Membership and Coverage Database is an Internet data resource providing private and public sector labor union membership, coverage, and density estimates compiled from the Current Population Survey (CPS), a monthly household survey, using BLS methods. These statistics are provided by the BLS in its annual Union Membership survey, but due with less detail. Be sure to read the background information on Unionstats.com with its commentary on the accuracy of the sample.

The Economic Report of the President is an annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisors. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices. Current and previous years are provided.

Use the National Employment Matrix to project employment needs by industry and occupation.

Find stats on industrial production, consumer credit, exchange rate, international activities from the FED.

From the Bureau of Labor Statistics, JOLTS collects data on Total Employment, Job Openings, Hires, Quits, Layoffs & Discharges, and Other Separations.

OECD brings together the governments of countries committed to democracy and the market economy from around the world to: Support sustainable economic growth; Boost employment; Raise living standards; Maintain financial stability; Assist other countries' economic development; Contribute to growth in world trade

See all the surveys and programs conducted by the U. S. Census Bureau that pertain to industries, companies, and business.

A monthly BLS release detailing the latest employment, payroll, and unemployment figures.

Over 100 industry pages are available. These pages display a ‘snapshot’ of national data obtained from different BLS surveys and programs. The data shown are based on the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) supersector, sector, and industry level.

Business and economy data available from the U.S. Census organized by survey title or topic.

Every five years, the U.S. Census Bureau collects extensive statistics about businesses that are essential to understanding the American economy. This official count, better known as the Economic Census, serves as the foundation for the measurement of U.S. businesses and their economic impact. As part of the Census Bureau’s mission to provide timely information on the health of the U.S. economy, this “business” census serves as the most extensive collection of data related to business activity. Nearly 4 million businesses, large, medium and small, covering most industries and all geographic areas of the United States will receive surveys tailored to their primary business activity.

Annual series providing economic profile of counties, states, and the United States. Data include employment, payroll, and number of establishments by industry.

The Economic Census is the U.S. Government's official five-year measure of American business and the economy.

The ILO's database of statistics, contains over 100 indicators covering more than 230 countries and economies. The Yearly indicators dataset contains standardized indicators for purposes of greater comparability across countries and relies heavily on the official submission of data by national authorities. The Short term indicators dataset contains monthly, quarterly and semi-annual data drawn from official websites of national authorities and is updated on a monthly basis. Additional data and tools are available from the site. This database replaces LABORSTA.

Statistics from the Bureau of Economic Analysis, by industry.

Here you will find a wide range of tables, articles, and data that describe and measure elements of the U.S. tax system. This data is extremely useful for scholarly and policy research.

Starting place for U. S. statistics on employment by industry.

Business and economy data available from the U.S. Census organized by survey title or topic.