Skip to main content

Film: A Guide to Resources: Home

A selection of reference sources and databases useful for the study of motion pictures.

Where to start

Looking for Scholarly Articles? Try the MLA Bibliography

Need film reviews? Search ProQuest Research Library

Want some basic biographical information on Godard? Use the International Dictionary of Films & Filmmakers

Need a solid scholarly bibliography to begin your research? Try the Oxford Online Bibliography for Cinema and Media Studies

Need to watch the original Night of the Living Dead in HD for film class? It's in the Internet Archive's feature film collection.

Can't remember which Walsh (M. Emmett or J.T.) played the detective in Blood Simple? Check the Internet Movie Database

Wondering what films the Library has? Here's how to find out

MLA Bibliography Tutorial

News, Research Tips & Updates

"We didn't need to talk, we had faces!"

This guide to resources is selective and includes titles held by the Reference collections of Olin and Uris Libraries as well as materials accessible online. Some titles listed may also be available in the general Olin (or Library Annex) stacks within the Library of Congress classification range PN 1993 through PN 1999.

New: The DVD collection formerly located in the Olin Media Center has been moved to the Uris Library Dean Room.

Silent Film Online

Silent Film Online brings together films which represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. This database provides streaming access to silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s and includes examples of the silent film movement from Germany, Britain, the Soviet Union, and France. The resource complements its feature films with a selection of related documentaries. Links to individual films can also be found in the Library Catalog.

Subject Librarian

Fred Muratori
Help from a librarian (you might not get me) is only a click away:

Contact Info:
106 Olin Library
Cornell University
(607) 255-6662
Send Email
My Subjects:
English-language literature, theater, film