Biographical Sources
American Directors by
Call Number: Olin stacks PN1998.A2 C86 also Library AnnexPublication Date: McGraw-Hill, c1983.2 vols. A collection of 118 critical essays on most well-known and some little-known American film directors. Includes filmographies and indexes.Cinema: A Critical Dictionary by
Call Number: Olin Reference PN1993.45 C57 1980+Publication Date: Viking Press, c1980.2 vols. A collection of signed articles on individual film directors, as well as some actors. A few special topics (American film noir) are also treated. Selected bibliographies included. Names, film titles, and illustrations are indexed.
Contemporary Theatre, Film, and TelevisionCall Number: Olin stacks PN2285 C76 +; 2009 vol. in ReferencePublication Date: Gale Research Co., c1984- 2009A biographical guide covering American and British performers, directors, writers, producers, designers, managers, choreographers, technicians, composers, executives, dancers, and critics. Each entry provides personal, career, and sidelight information. Appropriate writings and awards are listed. There are currently more than 25 volumes. The latest volume has a cumulative index. (Library subscription cancelled with 2009 volume.)
Dictionary of African Filmmakers by Call Number: Olin Reference Oversize PN1998.2 A758 2008+Publication Date: Indiana University Press, c2008An inclusive, comprehensive treatment of films and filmmaking on the African continent. The dictionary covers African feature filmmaking from the first locally produced films to today's thriving film industry, listing 5,415 films made by 1,253 filmmakers in 37 countries. Part 1 includes information on filmmakers and provides date and place of birth, training or film experience, other creative activities, and a list of feature films produced. Part 2 presents a national chronology, filmography, and bibliography for each country producing feature films. Part 3 indexes film titles and provides translations into English or French where appropriate. (publisher)
Wallflower Critical Guide to Contemporary British and Irish DirectorsCall Number: Olin stacks PN1998.2 C66x 2001Publication Date: Wallflower, 2001Encompassing the careers of over 350 directors who have worked within the British and Irish film industries over the last twenty years, this volume covers stalwarts such as David Lean, Richard Attenborough, and Neil Jordan; pioneers of 1960s Social Realism such as Lindsay Anderson and Tony Richardson, 1980s heritage filmmakers Ishmail Merchant and James Ivory; stylistic innovators such as Sally Potter, Lynne Ramsay and Derek Jarman; documentarists Nick Broomfield and Kevin MacDonald; and many emergent contemporary talents such as Danny Boyle, Shane Meadows and Guy Ritchie. For each director, the volume provides brief biographical material, a complete filmography, and critical analysis of individual works.
Wallflower Critical Guide to Contemporary North American DirectorsCall Number: Olin stacks PN1198.2 W35x 2000Publication Date: Wallflower, 2000Provides short biographies and concise filmographies for American and Canadian film directors.
