Film: A Guide to Resources: Encyclopedias, Guides & Dictionaries

Defines and illustrates the visual design choices that are fundamental to directing and editing, including camera positioning, transitions, and planning shots with an eye to continuity editing.

The British Film Institute's comprehensive online encyclopedia covering all aspects of the British film and television industries, including history, statistics, and terminology.

CINEGLOS es un glosario audiovisual de terminología cinematográfica diseñado para estudiantes y profesores del cine en español. La mayoría de los términos definidos están acompañados por fragmentos de películas latinoamericanas o españolas que muestran visualmente la técnica cinematográfica referida.

2nd. edition. 150 entries explore a wide range of genres, movements, theories and production terms with depth and clarity.

"...covers the history and major issues of film within that area, as well as providing bibliographies of the leading films, directors and actors. The areas covered are: Central Asia, Egypt, Iran, Lebanon, Syria, Iraq, Kuwait, Libya, The Magreb, Palestine, Turkey." - publisher

A condensed English-language edition of CineGraph -- Lexikon zum deutschsprachigen Film, regarded as the most authoritative and comprehensive encyclopedia of German film. "It offers a representative overview of German film history through bio-filmographical entries on its main protagonists, from the beginnings to the present day. In addition, entries have been specifically selected and rewritten, as in the case of exiled or émigré German artists whose careers continued in the United Kingdom, or in Hollywood. Other features include short introductions to specific periods and movements, e.g. Early Cinema, Expressionism, Film Europe, Nazi Cinema, DEFA, and New German Cinema; the relationship between film and other media, e.g. television, and art forms. Equally valuable are the sections on specific professions within the film industry such as actors, directors, cinematographers, production designers." [publisher]

"Explains the major theoretical approaches and definitions now deployed in the study of screen media. Entries range from longer overview essays which summarise the central paradigms of film and television theory, to shorter definitions of key concepts and introductions to major influential figures." (jacket copy) Includes cross-references, bibliographies, and index.

Encyclopedic dictionary that covers 30 years of Mexican film production including works done outside the film industry like: documentaries, works created in schools and institutes, films in super 8mm and 16mm, animation, video, experimental cinema and films produced for television. Each film record includes the complete filmography, the hemerographic sources used, movie theaters where the film was shown and prizes and recognitions

Covers all aspects of film studies, including terms, concepts, debates, and movements in film theory and criticism, national, international and transnational cinemas, film history, film movements and genres, film industry organizations andpractices, and key technical terms and concepts in 500 detailed entries.

Includes bibliographical references and indexes.

Surveys independent film "from cinema's inception through the 21st century, with alphabetical entries discussing filmmakers, significant films, genres, critical views, industry information, working methods, etc. (jacket copy) Appendices include lists of important films, independent film award winners and distributors. Bibliography, indexed.

With well over 6,300 articles, this fourth edition of The Encyclopedia of British Film is a fully updated reference guide to the British film industry.

Features nearly 300 entries on the written by a host of international scholars and film critics. Beginning with movies released after Franco's death, this volume documents four decades of films, directors, actresses and actors of Spanish cinema, Each includes comprehensive production details and provides brief suggestions for further reading.

Covers films in the major Indian languages, including directors, actors, producers, writers, and composers. Also included are detailed filmographies and a film chronology from 1912 to the present.

Documents one facet of racism in the film industry, wherein historically underrepresented peoples are misrepresented through a lack of roles for actors of color, stereotyping, negative associations, and an absence of rich, nuanced characters. Includes analysis from over 70 scholars, critics, and activists.

Closely examines the many, pervasive forms of sexism in contemporary productions-from clueless comedies to superhero blockbusters. In more than 130 entries, this volume explores a number of cinematic grievances including: the objectification of women's bodies, the limited character types available for female performers, the lack of sexual diversity on the screen, the limited range of desirable traits for female performers, the use of gratuitous sex, and the narrow focus on heteronormative depictions of courtship and romance.

3 vols. "With over 800 signed articles, this Encyclopedia is a fully international reference work on the history of the documentary film from the Lumière brothers' Workers Leaving the Lumière Factory (1885) to Michael Moore's Fahrenheit 911 (2004)....This Encyclopedia examines individual films and the careers of individual film makers, and provides overview articles of national and regional documentary film history. It explains concepts and themes in the study of documentary film, the techniques used in making films, and the institutions that support their production, appreciation, and preservation." - publisher.

Beginning with general guides, dictionaries and encyclopedias, the book then turns to filmographies, filmmakers, and filmmaking respectively. Filmographies list films and television shows in the categories of national cinema and genre, made by studios or filmmakers, or featuring various groups of people. Filmmakers includes biographies and credits for filmmakers and actors.

7th ed. This comprehensive work covers world cinema, including American, United Kingdom, and international films. Also contains biographies of directors, composers, film editors, actors and actresses, with filmographies for directors and major stars.

This source lists and describes American films meeting the criteria of the film noir style. Appendices include a chronology; names of writers, producers, actors and actresses; a bibliography; and essays on film styles and Film Noir in the eighties.

This four-volume combination handbook/bibliography deals with: general topics in film study, film genres, stereotyping in film, thematic approaches, literature and film, representative period of American film, history of film and national cinemas, and film study. Each lengthy, discursive chapter opens with an overview essay describing the background and other relevant aspects of that chapter's topic. More than 2,000 books on film are treated with unusual depth. Essays are then followed by annotated citations to films, articles, and books about film. Indexes provide access by article title, author, film title and subject. Volume 4's appendices reproduce a variety of documents, such as "The Production Code of the Motion Pictures Producers and Directors of America, Inc. --1930-1934," as well as lists of sources for further study.

Formerly The Filmgoer's Companion. This source is aimed at the general filmgoer and is an alphabetical listing of film titles, personalities, directors, and film series. Entries are concise and contain cross references..

Covers the history of African American history through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 1400 cross-referenced entries on actors, actresses, movies, producers, organizations, awards, and terminology.

Traces the development of the genre from its beginnings to the present through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries. Entries cover major horror characters; directors, producers, writers, actors, cinematographers, make-up artists, special-effects technicians, and composers; production companies; major films in the genre; and national traditions in horror cinema - as well as themes, formats, conventions, and cycles.

"Hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on actors, actresses, movies, producers, organizations, awards, film credits, and terminology"--From publisher description.

Features coverage of legendary films, actors, actresses, directors, writers, and other production artists through detailed essays and commentary by experts. Entries include biographies, filmographies, comprehensive credits, production information, major awards, and bibliographies.

"Arranged by race/ethnic group, the book covers films relating to the experiences of African Americans, Arab Americans, Asian Americans, European Americans, Latino/a Americans, Native Americans, and includes intercultural films, those depicting the experiences of more than one group. After providing a plot summary of each film, the authors critique it, proposing points of focus and discussion for the viewer. Films that appeal to a variety of different ages, with ratings given when possible, along with a thematic guide, will help identify films for students and educators on specific topics and issues for each minority group."--BOOK JACKET.

Updated edition of The American film industry (1986). Provides information on American producing and releasing companies, technical innovations, industry terms, studios, genres, and organizations. Many entries contain short bibliographies and note where archival materials on the subject are held. Indexes.

Alphabetically arranged entries cover topics, people, films, and television shows from an LGBTQ perspective. Each entry contains a bibliography.

Provides a comprehensive overview of Turkish cinema from its beginnings to the present day. Covers prominent filmmakers, films, actors, screenwriters, cinematographers, editors, producers, significant themes, genres, movements, theories, production modes, film journals, film schools and professional organizations.

Comprises 200 essays by leading film scholars analyzing the most important, influential, innovative and interesting films of all time. Arranged alphabetically, each entry explores why each film is significant for those who study film and explores the social, historical and political contexts in which the film was produced.

An international reference work representing the essential ideas and concepts at the centre of film theory from the beginning of the twentieth century, to the beginning of the twenty-first. Signed articles by 50 scholars from around the globe address the difficult formulations and propositions in each theory by reducing these difficult formulations to straightforward propositions.

Includes entries on nearly 200 women behind the camera: producers, directors, editors, writers, animators, art directors, and costume designers. Each entry consists of a biography, complete filmography, selected bibliography, and expository essay on the subject's work. Other entries discuss specific films in which women played a major role in creating. Provides a chronology as well as indexes by nationality, occupation, awards, and film title.