Skip to main content

Theater: A Guide to Library Resources: Home

This guide highlights online and print resources available at Olin and Uris Libraries.

Where to Start

New to theater research? See Research Methods in Theatre and Performance.

Looking for Scholarly Articles? Try the MLA Bibliography

Need a pre-1700 English text? Search Early English Books Online

Not sure what "Grand Guignol" refers to? Check the Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance

Need to locate a play published in an anthology? The Play Index can help.

Can't figure out the origin of the word "bodkin?" Look it up in the Oxford English Dictionary

Want basic biographical information on a playwright? Use the Literature Resource Center

Trying to find set designs from productions at the Meyerhold Theatre?  GloPAD has them.

In search of documentaries about Henrik Ibsen? Try Theatre in Video.

A Guide to Theater Resources

Model by Lee Simonson for Act II of Gluck's
Iphigenia in Tauris
( Theatre Arts Magazine, December 1917)

This bibliography is selective and includes titles held by the Reference collections of Olin and Uris Libraries, as well as reference materials accessible online. Some titles listed may also be available in the general stacks. Please note that the Music Library holds many resources related to musical theatre (e.g., The Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre, The American Musical Theatre Song Encyclopedia) that are not listed here. The Rare & Manuscript Collections in the Kroch Library holds many theater-related items as well, including the Bernard F. Burgunder Collection on George Bernard Shaw. Most material on Asian theater is housed in the Kroch Library Asia collections.

Subject Librarian

Fred Muratori
Help from a librarian (you might not get me) is only a click away:

Contact Info:
106 Olin Library
Cornell University
(607) 255-6662
Send Email
My Subjects:
English-language literature, theater, film

Images from the Global Performing Arts Database (GLOPAD)