Theater Review Sources
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)A component of Web of Science -- AHCI offers multidisciplinary journal coverage of the arts & humanities. It can also be searched by cited references to specific works that appear in article bibliographies. Coverage range is1975 - date. From the main Web of Science search screen, select More Settings, and uncheck all but the AHCI checkbox.
- Dramatic Index for 1909-1949.(Bound with Annual Magazine Subject Index.) Boston Book Co., 1909-1952. Olin Reference AI3 M18
Beginning with 1909, each volume is in two parts, each part having separate title page and pagination: pt. I, Annual magazine subject-index: pt. II, The Dramatic index. The Dramatic Index serves as an index to books, journal articles, illustrations, texts and reviews in theater and film. Covers general and specialized English-language periodicals. Articles are entered under subject only, with reviews of plays and films found under the title of the play. An important but often overlooked resource. Full text online in HathiTrust 1908-1928; search only for subsequent years. - A Guide to Critical ReviewsNew York, Scarecrow Press, 1966-71. 4 parts in 5 vols.Olin Reference Z5781 S16
Contents: pt. 1. American drama from O'Neill to Albee.--pt. 2. The musical from Rodgers and Hart to Lerner and Loewe.--pt. 3. British & continental drama from Ibsen to Pinter.--pt. 4. The screenplay, from The jazz singer to Dr. Strangelove (2 v.)
__________2nd edition. 1973-76.Olin Reference Z5781 S16 1973
Contents: pt. 1. American drama, 1909-1969.--pt. 2. The musical, 1909-1974.--pt. 3. Foreign drama, 1909-1977
__________3rd edition. 1984-1991.Olin Reference Z5781 S16 1984Contents: pt. 1. American drama, 1909-1982 -- pt. 2. The musical. 1909-1989. - New York Theatre Critics' ReviewsNew York, Critics' Theatre Reviews, inc.1940-1994. Library Annex PN1601 N53 ++
"Theatre reviews is a complete guide and record of the New York stage, reprinted from New York Sun, New York Times, New York Herald Tribune, New York Post, New York Daily News, New York World Telegram Wall Street journal, Time, Women's Wear Daily, Christian Science Monitor, Newsweek, NBC. - New York Times Theater ReviewsNew York Times and Arno Press. Library Annex PN 2189 N53++
Facsimile reprints of the reviews of theater productions as they appeared in the New York Times. Arranged chronologically, the set also includes appendices of awards and prizes and of productions and runs by season as well as indexes by title, production company, and personal name. The first 21 volumes cover the years 1870-2000. Since then volumes have been published biannually. NOTE: these reviews can also be found online through ProQuest Historical Newspapers.]
- Performing Arts Periodicals DatabaseFormerly the International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA) covers dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, and magic. Full text from 1999 onward.
- ProQuest Historical NewspapersThis database offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. For most titles, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files. The database is an ongoing project.
- Theatre Record(formerly London Theatre Record). 1991 - date. Olin stacks PN2596.L6 L83+ (Current issues in Periodicals Room)
- Reprints published reviews of theatrical performances in London and elsewhere in the UK. Includes production credits and dates of performance. Review sources include The Spectator, The Daily Mail, Mail on Sunday, Independent, Time Out, Guardian, The Times and other UK publications. Annual Index
- Theatre Reviews Limited
A "source for reviews of many of the shows currently running in Manhattan as well as in New Jersey and around the United States. You will also find listings of shows that are on tour. " (Web site)
- Times of London Digital Archive, 1785-2006Full-text and full-image articles from the Times of London for the years 1785-2006. It is a digital reproduction, cover to cover, of the paper in PDF files.
- Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006Database coverage begins with the Sunday Times, issued October 20, 1822-December 24, 1903; The Sunday special, issued January 3, 1904-January 24, 1904; The Sunday Times and Sunday Special, issued January 31, 1904-January 4, 1931; and Sunday times, January 11, 1931-December 31, 2006. Includes the Sunday Times Magazine, issued February, 1962.
.
