Theater: A Guide to Library Resources: Biographical Sources

"This reference offers thorough critical assessments of more than 60 African American dramatists from the 19th century to the present. Included are alphabetically arranged entries on such playwrights as Ira Aldridge, James Baldwin, Arna Bontemps, Ed Bullins, Zora Neale Hurston, Willis Richardson, and Richard Wright. Each entry is written by an expert contributor and provides a biography, a discussion of major works and themes, a survey of the dramatist's critical reception, and primary and secondary bibliographies. The volume closes with a selected, general bibliography."

Lists more than 700 black Americans who have written for the theater, film, television, and radio fro 1950 to the mid-1980s. Includes brief biographical data and an annotated list of plays.

Provides biographical and bibliographic information, as well as brief critical essays, on 433 English-language dramatists, most from North American and the British Isles.

"Alphabetically arranged entries present 62 contemporary gay American poets and dramatists. A number of these writers are well known, including Edward Albee, Harvey Fierstein, and Allen Ginsberg. Others, such as Alan Bowne, Timothy Liu, and Robert O'Hara, merit wider recognition. Each entry is written by an expert contributor and includes a biography, a discussion of major works and themes, an overview of the author's critical reception, and primary and secondary bibliographies." (publisher)

Includes alphabetically arranged entries for more than 70 contemporary Jewish-American dramatists and poets. Each includes a brief biography, a discussion of major works and themes, and overview of the critical reception of the author's writings, and a bibliography of primary and secondary sources. Includes bibliographies.

A biographical guide covering American and British performers, directors, writers, producers, designers, managers, choreographers, technicians, composers, executives, dancers, and critics. Each entry provides personal, career, and sidelight information. Appropriate writings and awards are listed. There are currently more than 25 volumes. The latest volume has a cumulative index. (Library subscription cancelled with 2009 volume.)

Covers American and British performers, directors, writers, producers, designers, managers, choreographers, technicians, composers, executives, dancers, and critics. Each entry provides personal, career, and sidelight information. Appropriate writings and awards are listed. There are currently more than 25 volumes. The latest volume -- has a cumulative index.

"Collects in a single volume biographies of more than one hundred notable figures whose careers flourished in the years before the 1969 Stonewall Riots marked the beginning of the gay and lesbian civil rights movement in the United States...The Gay and Lesbian Theatrical Legacy collects biographies and portraits of influential actors, playwrights, composers, directors, designers, dancers, producers, managers, critics, choreographers, and technicians who made their mark on the American theater." [publisher]

300 alphabetical articles provide biographical information on women in American theater, including actors, directors, designers, choreographers, playwrights, critics, and agents. Each entry contains a selected bibliography. Includes indexes by birthplace and profession.

Provides basic biographical data for, and references to the obituaries (in The Era, The Stage, The Clipper, New York Dramatic Mirror, Variety, London Times, New York Times, and others) of major and minor theatrical personnel who died between 1850 and 1990. International in scope.

One-volume, alphabetically arranged collection of signed, brief biographies of important figures in the history of theatrical design. Includes an historical overview of the subject, a chronological list of designers, and a selected bibliography.

Contains biographical sketches of over 300 individuals. It includes both contemporary directors and those who are no longer working. Emphasis is on artists who have international reputations, especially those whose work has had an impact on American theatre. Each entry profiles the director's life and assesses the significance of his or her accomplishments, provides a list of productions not mentioned in the narrative, and includes a bibliography. The work also includes appendixes, providing a selected bibliography, and indexes of names and plays.

Contains 1,400 brief biographical entries on theater artists -- actors, directors, designers, dramatists -- from 68 countries. Excludes those primarily working in dance and opera.