Pre-1980 U.S. News Coverage
- ProQuest Historical NewspapersU.S. titles in the database:
Baltimore Sun (1837-1998)
Boston Globe (1872-2007)
Chicago Defender (1909-2010)
Chicago Tribune (1849-2015)
Hartford Courant (1764-1999)
Los Angeles Times (1881-2015)
New Jersey Collection (varies by title)
New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010)
New York Collection (varies by title)
New York Times (1851-2020)
New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841-1962)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010)
Vermont Collection (varies by title)
Wall Street Journal (1889-2012)
Washington Post (1877-2008) - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York CollectionCovers the Ithaca Journal,1914-2013. Extensive coverage of the Binghamton (1904-2012), Elmira (1891-2011), and Rochester (1884-2011) newspapers.
- New York Times IndexCall Number: Library Annex AI 21 .N56 ++; 1851 through 2016New York: The Times, 1851 - 2016.
An annual printed subject index to the New York Times. Useful in locating material in other newspapers because it can be used to date events. Brief synopses of articles answer some questions without having to go to the paper itself. Citations include date, page, and column number. The arrangement and subject headings are unique to this index, so check the front of the volume for instructions. You can use this index to follow the course of particular events throughout the year. Narrow topics are often cross-referenced to an article listed under a broader topic. Ceased with 2016. Published by ProQuest in the last few years. - Underground Newspapers on MicrofilmThree unindexed microfilm collections of underground newspapers (covering the 1960s to 1980s) are housed in Olin Library:
- Underground Newspaper Collection (476 reels, Film 3055),
- Hoover Institution Supplement to Underground Press Collection (16 reels, Film 3055A), and
- UMC Library Underground Newspaper Collection (9 reels, Film 8224).
Records for every title in the Underground Newspaper Collection are also available in the Cornell Library Catalog. Guides for all three collections are shelved in the microform guide area in Olin Reference to locate individual issues in the film collection.
Our News Databases: Online News Sources LibGuide links to other sources of news articles from before 1980.
In addition, printed newspaper indexes cover some individual newspaper titles before 1980. For events of national interest in the years before 1980, you can use the New York Times Index, Library Annex AI 21 .N56 ++, 1851-2016; the Washington Post Index, Library Annex AI 21 .N584 ++, 1971-1979, and Library Annex AI 21 .N585 +, 1979-2007; the Wall Street Journal Index, Library Annex AI 21 .W18 +, 1955-2007, and Catherwood (ILR) Library AI 21 .W18 +, 1958-2017; and the Christian Science Monitor Index, Library Annex AI 21 .C55 +, 1949-March 2008.
Discovering U.S. Newspaper Holdings Outside Cornell
The WorldCat database is a searchable catalog of many U.S. newspaper titles and the libraries that own them.