A Guide to News Research: Where to Find News Articles: Post-1980 Coverage

Regional U.S. business news. Part of the Proquest ABI/Inform collection of databases. To search only ABI/Inform Dateline, go to "Select multiple databases" and select only "ABI/Inform Dateline."
ABI/Inform Dateline focuses on hard-to-find local and regional business news coverage of large corporations, privately held companies, local start-ups, executive profiles, marketing, finance, and industry news. Provides access to business information not typically found in national news sources. Contains news and analysis, information on local markets, and more gathered from major business tabloids, magazines, daily newspapers, wire services, and city, state, and regional business publications. Cornell only. To see a list of titles, click the Publications tab above the search bar.

A collection of links to news sites worldwide. Coverage: Mainly the current issue; some searchable archives; see individual sources. Includes some streaming video and audio; television, radio, and online news sources. Many languages.

NewsBank/Readex.
Coverage and format: Current, from roughly the mid-1980s on (start dates vary widely). Over 7,000 newspapers and newswires, including some web-only titles. Mainly plain text and some video, but 100+ titles now available in color PDFs.

ProQuest.
Full-text database of selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press. Coverage of the peace movement, ecology and the environment, labor, indigenous peoples, public policy, and grassroots organizing. This coverage of diverse points of view and perspectives complements the reporting in the mainstream press.

Access funded by the Library.
Scroll down to the Newsstand: US section on the Factiva home page. Use sources in this column to browse the last two weeks of the following news sources—every article, plain text (no graphics)—The New York Times, Wall Street Journal (U.S. edition), and Washington Post from the print editions.
Access limited to 10 simultaneous users.

Created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit policy makers and analysts, FBIS Daily Reports offer foreign views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of monitored broadcasts and publications. Translated into English from more than 50 languages, these comprehensive media reports from around the globe include news, interviews, speeches and editorial commentary. The FBIS Daily Reports in this collection cover April 1974 through September 1996. For coverage after 1996, see World News Connection below.

Access funded by the Library.
Aggregates all the ProQuest Newsstream databases in one searchable interface, including U.S. Newsstream with all regional Newsstreams, Canadian Newsstream, and International Newsstream. Five major U.S. daily newspapers can be searched in U.S Major Dailies database.
Coverage and format: 1980s to date. Plain text.

Searchable full text, 8/9/1999 to present. Plain text. See also ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Collection that covers the Ithaca Journal from 1914 through 2013. PDFs.

A table of print sources for Latin American news.

ProQuest.
A searchable full-text database of newspapers from Latin America--most coverage begins in 2005, but see the title list for specific dates (click the Publications tab above the search bar). A related resource for print sources is the LibGuide Latin American News Sources in Olin Library.

Coverage: roughly 1980 to date. Includes television and radio. Plain text. Mainly English and Western European languages.
Updated daily. An international online news and legal database originally created for lawyers, businesses, and broadcast and print news organizations. Contains the the text of a number of large- and medium-size newspapers around the world; transcripts of broadcast news shows, interviews, and press conferences; local and state business publications; international wire services; and legal materials.

Full coverage for 31 titles (plus five multi-title regional newspaper collections) starting from either 1/1/2008, 1/1/2009, 1/1/2010, or 1/1/2011, and ending mostly "within days of the current issue." Primarily publisher PDFs backed by full text searching of OCRed text with some searching of publisher's text feed for the newest issues.

Access provided by Cornell University Library. Asterisked titles add a year of coverage each calendar year.
Provides searchable full-image databases from the beginning for
U.S. newspaper titles:
Atlanta Journal-Constitution (1868-1984),
* Baltimore Sun (1837-1998),
Boston Globe (1872-2007),
Chicago Tribune (1849-2015),
* Hartford Courant (1764-1998),
* Los Angeles Times (1881-2015),
* New York Times (1851-2020),
New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841-1962),
* Wall Street Journal (1889-2012),
* Washington Post (1877-2008).
African-American newspaper titles:
Chicago Defender (1910-2010),
New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010),
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010).
International newspaper titles:
ABC [Madrid] (1903-2010),
Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953),
* Globe and Mail [Toronto] (1844-2020),
* Hindustan Times (1924-2000),
* Irish Times / Weekly Irish Times [Dublin] (1859-2022),
Le Monde (1944-2000),
Montreal Gazette (1785-2010),
* Times of India (1838-2011).
PDFs scanned from microfilm for earlier years. English. Advertising content is searchable. Search a single newspaper or cross-search any combination of newspapers in this collection.

Covers the Ithaca Journal,1914-2013. Extensive coverage of the Binghamton (1904-2012), Elmira (1891-2011), and Rochester (1884-2011) newspapers.

ProQuest. Subscription.
Coverage varies by title: 1980s to date. Plain text.
About 100 current newspaper titles from Connecticut, Delaware, Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Vermont plus additional non-newspaper titles.

1995-2013.
A foreign news service from the U.S. government that provides the text of English translations for international newspaper articles and radio/television broadcasts. Coverage begins in 1995 and ends 12/31/2013. For coverage before 1995, see the Foreign Broadcast Information Service entry (above).