Ethnic Newspapers
- African American Historical Newspapers OnlineA very extensive guide with links to online African-American newspapers.
- Ethnic NewsWatch.Included in the ProQuest databases, this source contains the searchable full text of hundreds of ethnic and minority newspapers in the United States, beginning with 1959. Several Spanish language newspapers are available; the database is searchable in English and in Spanish.
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980Readex. Purchased backfile.
"the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries."--from the Summary in the catalog record.
Cross-searchable with other Readex historical newspapers databases in America's Historical Newspapers. - Latin American NewsstreamProQuest.
A searchable full-text database of newspapers from Latin America--most coverage begins in 2005, but see the title list for specific dates (click the Publications tab above the search bar). A related resource for print sources is the LibGuide Latin American News Sources in Olin Library. - ProQuest Historical Newspapers [PQHN].Scroll down the title list on the PQHN home page to select:
Chicago Defender (1909 to 2010);
New York Amsterdam News (1922 to 2010); and
Pittsburgh Courier (1911 to 2010). - US Hispanic Newsstream.Full text access to leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs from US publishers in both Spanish and English including El Diario/La Prensa (New York City), La Opinión (Los Angeles), La Prensa (San Antonio) and Extra (Chicago).
See also:
- Black Newspapers Index.Call Number: Africana Library Reference AI 3 .I365 (1977-2008)This print index provides abstracts and comprehensive indexing of all significant articles in eight major black newspapers: the Afro-American, American Muslim Journal, New York Amsterdam News, Chicago Defender, Call and Post, Journal and Guide, Los Angeles Sentinel, and the Michigan Chronicle. NB: The earlier title is Index to Black Newspapers, covering 1977-1986.