Skip to main content

News Research: Finding the News: Where are
the papers?

A chronological overview of the major resources for finding the news, both historical and recent, with advice for the news researcher. Formerly called Finding the News. Click on the BLUE TABS below to access all sections of this guide.

Where are the papers?

CURRENT ISSUES IN PRINT:

Olin Library subscribes to many newspapers from around the world (Asian newspapers are in Kroch Library). Current print issues of newspapers are available in paper until superseded by microfilm. These issues are available in the Current Periodicals and Newspapers Reading Room, Olin Library Room 101. Examples of U.S. newspapers available:

  • Albany Times-Union
  • Boston Globe
  • Buffalo News
  • Ithaca Journal
  • New York Times
  • Texas Observer
  • USA Today
  • Village Voice
  • Wall Street Journal
  • Washington Post

CURRENT ISSUES ONLINE:

Library Press Display, aka PressDisplay.com, contains full color online versions of newspapers from over 50 countries for the last 90 days, including today's paper. For other databases with today's news, see News Collections Online: News Databases for a linked list.

BACK ISSUES ON THE WEB:

Archives of newspaper articles are available through many of the news databases the Library subscribes to. See News Collections Online: News Databases for a linked list.

You can also find major newspapers and online news services by using ABYZ NewsLinks which gathers links to news sources worldwide. Look for a search box or an archives link on these pages to find articles in back issues. Length of time archived varies widely.

BACK ISSUES ON MICROFILM:

Over 80 newspaper titles have been digitized and made available online in our ProQuest Digital Microfilm collection. Coverage of each newspaper begins on January 1 of either 2008, 2009, 2010, or 2011, depending on the title.

Back issues of newspapers on microfilm are shelved by microfilm number (Film 288, for example) on the B (Lower) Level of Olin Library and at the Library Annex. Search the Cornell Library Catalog by journal title for the exact holdings locations. If you don't find what you want, ask for help from the Olin Library reference staff.

BACK ISSUES IN PRINT:

Miscellaneous Newspapers. [Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Library, Reference Dept., 199u]-
(Web page: http://olinuris.library.cornell.edu/ref/oldnewslist.html)

An online list that includes all the miscellaneous print newspaper issues now located at the Library Annex. These issues there are older, and most runs are not very large--some are singe issues. Some of these papers are bound and cataloged, but many are not. Includes papers classified as "AN" and "NY1", as well as foreign papers and papers for U.S. states other than New York.