How to Submit to eCommons
Before your first submission
Before submitting material to eCommons for the first time, there are two, one-time only steps required:
- Create and account by logging in to eCommons with your Cornell credentials.
- Get approved to submit by contacting the eCommons Administrator with the name of the Collection or Collections to which you want to submit.
- If you are new to eCommons, we suggest you review our help pages for submitters. If you are depositing data, we suggest you contact the Research Data Management Service Group for assistance.
- Check your content for accessibility, and correct issues. NOTE: accessibility is a requirement.
- Identify the collection to which you wish to submit. Request permission to submit to an existing collection if the one you want does not appear in the dropdown menu below by contacting the ecommons administrators. Request a new collection, if necessary, by completing the online form.
- Review the eCommons License, and consider whether you want to apply a Creative Commons license to your work.
- Have your metadata and files ready.
At any point during the process, you may cancel the submission, or save what you have entered and return to it later.
- Login to your eCommons account.
- Select "Start a New Submission." Alternatively, navigate to the collection you would like to submit to and select "Submit a new item to this collection." Then skip to step 4.
- Select the Collection to which you want to submit your work. The list will contain those Collections to which you are authorized to submit.
- Read and agree to the eCommons Deposit License.
- Fill in the forms. The more complete your description, the more likely that others will find your work quickly. For advice on describing your content, see Metadata tips.
- Upload your file and provide a short file description. Note: files should not be locked and should not contain embedded media. Follow RDMSG file naming conventions.
- Verify your file upload and add additional files if necessary.
- Verify your submission. Please review the content description and file. Click "Next" to complete the submission.
After you submit
You should receive an e-mail message explaining how to access and refer to your submission. If your submission requires approval, then you will get your confirmation e-mail message after the submission is approved.
eCommons refreshes its index and generates thumbnail images for new submissions each night.