Browsing
To find more materials in the library catalog, try a search for Asian American art, Asian American artists, Asian American drama, Asian American music, for example.
Art
Encyclopedia of Asian American Artists by
Organized alphabetically; long articles on 75 20th-century and contemporary [as of 2007] artists. Each article has a bibliography and "places to see the works." Some photos.
Call Number: N6538.A83 H35 2007 + (REF; in Asia reading room)Publication Date: 2007 ( Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press)
Leading the Way:Asian American Artists of the Older Generation by
.." an insightful introduction to 25 Asian American artists active from the 1930s through the 1960s. Many of these artists continue to be productive in the 21st century. Poon's portraits include senior Asian American artists from California, Hawaii, Washington State, and New York City. Among the artists included are George Tsutakawa, Mineacute; Okubo, Johsel Namkung, and Jade Snow Wong." Selected portfolio of artists' work.
Call Number: N6538.A83 P66 2001 (in Library Annex)Publication Date: 2001 (Wenham, Mass. : Gordon College)
Unsettled Visions: Contemporary Asian American Artists and the Social Imaginary by
Artist & scholar Machida focuses on works produced during the watershed 1990s, when Asian immigration had significantly altered the demographic, cultural, and political contours of Asian America, and a renaissance in Asian American art and visual culture was well underway. Machida conducted extensive interviews with ten artists. ...A subtle account of the multiple, shifting meanings of "Asianness" in Asian American art. Analyses of the work of individual artists are grouped around three major themes: representations of the Other; social memory and trauma; and migration, diaspora, and sense of place.
Call Number: N6538.A83 M37 2008 (online also: click on title)Publication Date: 2009 ( Durham : Duke University Press )
Best! Letters from Asian Americans in the Arts by
This collection of seventy-three letters written in 2020 captures an unprecedented moment in politics and society through the experiences of Asian-American artists, curators, educators, art historians, editors, writers, and designers. The form of the letter offers readers intimate insights into the complexities of Asian American experiences -- chronicling everyday lives, dreams, rage, family histories, and cultural politics..
Call Number: E184.A75 B47 2021 +Publication Date: 2021 (Brooklyn, N.Y] : Paper Monument,)
Asian Traditions /Modern Expressions: Asian American Artists and Abstraction, 1945-1970 by
A survey of Asian American modernists active during the era of Abstract Expressionism which sets out to re-evaluate a generation of neglected artists. Paintings, stone and metal sculptures, woodcuts, works on paper, ceramics and collages are all presented in this volume.
Call Number: Temp N6538.A83 A84 1997 (in Library Annex; check catalog)Publication Date: 1997 ( New York : H.N. Abrams)
Unnamable: the Ends of Asian American Art by
•Introduction: lingering thoughts on the last Asian American exhibition in the whole entire world
•Unnamable encounters: a phantom history of multicultural and Asian American art exhibitions, 1990-2008
•Formal actions: reevaluating the "cultural work" of Tehching Hiseh, Byron Kim, and Simon Leung
•Gleaning the art practices of Simon Leung and Mary Lum
•The vanishing acts of Nikki S. Lee and Tehching Hsieh.
Call Number: N6538.A83 M56 2018 (Fine Arts Library, Sibley Hall)Publication Date: 2018 ( New York : New York University Press)
Cheers to Muses: Contemporary Works by Asian American Women by
Highlights the work of more than 60 artists (and writers), each entry accompanied by an example of the artist's work and a dedication to the particular "muse" who inspired or informed the artist.
Call Number: NX512.3.A83 C47 2007Publication Date: 2007 ( San Francisco, CA : Asian American Women Artists Association)- Artists of Chinese Origin in North America Directory An A to Z directory of Chinese artists in North America, from Karl Bang to Hong Min Zou; includes biographical information for each artist, and many color or black and white reproductions of artists' works.Call Number: + N6538.C48 A78x 1993 (REF; in Asia reading room)Publication Date: 1993 ( [Taipei, Taiwan] : Artist Magazine ; [S.l.] : International Institute for the Arts)
Performing Arts
Historical Dictionary of Asian American Literature and Theater by
Also in print in stacks, PS153.A84 X814 2022, and in Asia Reference. A Library Journal Best Reference Book of 2022, it contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has more than 700 cross-referenced entries on genres, major terms, and authors.
Publication Date: 2022 ( Lanham : Rowman & Littlefield)
- Asian American DramaDatabase of 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.
Asian American Playwrights: A Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook by
Alphabetically arranged entries for 52 Asian American dramatists. Each entry contains biographical information that contextualizes the works of a playwright, a description of selected plays that spotlights recurring themes and plots, a summary of the playwright's critical reception, and a bibliography of primary and secondary works.The bibliography includes anthologies, scholarly studies, and periodicals.
Call Number: PS338.A74 A9 2002 (REF; in Asia reading room. Also online; click on title)Publication Date: 2002 (Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press,)
A History of Asian American Theatre by
In 1965, the first Asian American theatre company, the East West players, was founded by a group of actors who wanted to find better opportunities in the acting industry. Forty years later, Asian American theatre is one of the fastest-growing theatre sectors with over thirty active theatre companies and numerous award-winning plays. This book surveys the history of Asian American theatre from 1965 to 2005 with focus on actors, playwrights, companies, audiences, and communities.
Call Number: PN2270.A75 L44 2006Publication Date: 2006 (Cambridge : Cambridge University Press)
Asian American Plays for a New Generation by
[This book] showcases seven exciting new plays that dramatize themes familiar to Asian Americans -- immigration, racism, stereotyping, identity, generational tensions, assimilation, and upward mobility as well as post-9/11 paranoia, racial isolation, and adoptee experiences.
Call Number: PS628.A85 A885 2011Publication Date: 2011 (Philadelphia : Temple University Press)
Performing Asian America: Race and Ethnicity on the Contemporary Stage by
By looking at performances and dramatic texts, Lee argues that playwrights produce a different conception of Asian America in accordance with their unique set of sensibilities. Some Asian American playwrights critique the separation of issues of race and ethnicity from those of economics and class, or they see ethnic identity as a voluntary choice of lifestyle rather than an impetus for concerted political action. Others deal with the problem of cultural stereotypes. Discussed are better-known plays such as Frank Chin's "The Chickencoop Chinaman," David Henry Hwang's "M. Butterfly," and Velina Hasu Houston's "Tea," and new works like Jeannie Barroga's "Walls" and Wakako Yamauchi's "12-1-a.""
Call Number: PS338.A74 L44x 1997 (in Olin Library; also online, click on title)Publication Date: 1997 ( Philadelphia : Temple University Press)
Photography
Looking for Asian America: An Ethnocentric Tour by Wing Young Huie by Call Number: TR681.A75 H85 2007 +Publication Date: 2007 (Minneapolis : University of Minnesota Press,)Celebrated photographer Wing Young Huie--the only member of his family not born in China--traveled with his wife Tara through nearly forty states to explore and document the funny, touching, and sometimes strange intersection of Asian American and American cultures. Looking for Asian America illustrates their rich and surprising journey across the United States.
