Chinese-Americans
The Encyclopedia of the Chinese Overseas by
Offers a broad view of overseas Chinese communities worldwide, including the U.S.(Part V.) Arranged geographically and then thematically, with country-by-country profiles of Chinese communities; sections on regional and cultural origins of immigrant communities,, history and patterns of migration; social, familial and business institutions. Book has "box" feature essays, maps, graphs, tables and photos.. Bibliography of works in Chinese, English, French, Spanish.
Call Number: DS732 .E53x 1999 + (REF; in Asia reading room)Publication Date: 1999 ( Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Press)
Forbidden Citizens - Chinese Exclusion and the U.S. Congress: a Legislative History by
This prize-winning book recounts the long and shameful legislative history against the Chinese in America. The U.S. Congress banned all Chinese from becoming U.S. citizens from 1882 through 1943, and stopped most Chinese from even entering the country starting in 1882. The book includes the history and background information about the Acts and the House and Senate debates on each bill. Appendices include the acts from 1868 to the repeal in 1943.
Call Number: KF 4845 G65 2012Publication Date: 2012 (Alexandria, VA : TheCapital.Net)
Chinese Americans: The History and Culture of a People by
•Part I. Context of Chinese American emigration: coming to America •Part II. Political activity and economic life: business endeavors and involvement in American politics •Part III. Cultural and religious life: people, institutions,and organizations •Part IV. Literature, the arts, popular culture, and sports: people, movements, and expressions of identity.
Call Number: E184.C5 C4797 2016 + (in Asia stacks)Publication Date: 2015 ( Santa Barbara, California : ABC-CLIO)
Chinese America, Stereotype and Reality: History, Present and Future of the Chinese Americans by
Covering more than 150 years of history,. this book covers immigration history, immigration legislation, and educational, socio-cultural and political achievements. Employing the author's detailed knowledge of the Chinese Diaspora, combined with her meticulous research, the book explores the history, diversity, socio-cultural structures, networks, and achievements of this ethnic group.
Call Number: E184.C5 Z56 2005Publication Date: 2005 (New York : P. Lang)
China Through American Eyes: Early Depictions of the Chinese People and Culture in the Us Print Media by
Besides images from newspapers and journals, this collection [of primary source documents] also contains pictures about China and the Chinese published in books, brochures, commercial advertisements, campaign posters, postcards, etc. Together, they have documented portrayals of the Chinese by the U.S. print media and their evolution from ethnic curiosity, stereotyping, and racial prejudice to social awareness, reluctant understanding, and eventual acceptance. Since these publications represent different positions in American politics, they can help contemporary readers develop a more comprehensive understanding of major events in modern American and Chinese histories, such as the cause and effect of the Chinese Exclusion Act and the power struggles behind the development of the Open Door Policy at the turn of the twentieth century.
Call Number: DS774.5 .C45 2017Publication Date: 2017 (Singapore ; Hackensack, New Jersey : World Scientific Publishing Co. Pte. Ltd)
Family Sacrifices: The Worldviews and Ethics of Chinese Americans by
Fifty-two percent of Chinese Americans report having no religious affiliation, making them the least religiously-identified ethnic group in the United States. But that statistic obscures a much more complex reality. Family Sacrifices reveals that Chinese Americans employ familism, not religion, as the primary narrative by which they find meaning, identity, and belonging. Chinese American familism prioritizes family... and has roots in Chinese popular religion and Confucianism.
Call Number: E184 C5 J48 2019Publication Date: 2019 (New York, NY : Oxford University Press)
Japanese-Americans
Encyclopedia of Japanese American History: An A-to-Z Reference from 1868 to the Present by
Contains a history of Japanese in America, a chronology 1258-2000 with extensive bibliography of the citations; A-Z entries; and a 100-title Basic Library on Japanese Americans.
Call Number: E184.J3 E53 2001 + (REF; in Asia reading room)Publication Date: 2000 (New York : Facts on File)
Encyclopedia of Japanese American Internment by
(Online also; click on title) This book addresses the forced removal and confinement of Japanese Americans during World War II. Combines first-hand accounts by participants with detailed descriptions of assembly centers, concentration camps, and military and Justice Department internment camps.Describes historic events; examines the legal, political, and social ramifications; supplies biographies of key individuals; and discusses the significance of Japanese internment in Asian American history
Call Number: D769.8.A6 E64 2013 + (REF; in Asia reading room)Publication Date: 2013 (Santa Barbara, California : Greenwood, an imprint of ABC-CLIO)
Japanese American Ethnicity: In Search of Heritage and Homeland Across Generations by
In [this book] Takeyuki Tsuda explores the contemporary ethnic experiences of Japanese Americans from the second to the fourth generations and the extent to which they remain connected to their ancestral cultural heritage. He also places Japanese Americans in transnational and diasporic context and analyzes the performance of ethnic heritage through the example of taiko drumming ensembles. Drawing on extensive fieldwork... Tsuda argues that..... each new generation of Japanese Americans has negotiated its own ethnic positionality in different ways.
Call Number: E184.J3 T7873 2016Publication Date: 2016 (New York : New York University Press)
Citizen 13660 by
(note: preservation photocopy of original 1946 book is at D805.U5 O41 1946a +. Both at Olin Library.) Mine Okubo was one of 110,000 people of Japanese descent who were rounded up into "protective custody" shortly after Pearl Harbor. Citizen 13660, her memoir of life in relocation centers in California and Utah, was first published in 1946, then reissued by University of Washington Press in 1983 with a new Preface by the author. With 197 pen-and-ink illustrations, and poignantly written text, the book has been a perennial bestseller.
Call Number: D769.8.A6 O41 1983Publication Date: 1983 (Seattle : University of Washington Press)
Documents of Japanese American Internment by
This document collection sheds light on Japanese American internment through the voices and perspectives of those who directly experienced this event as well as those who created the policy behind it. The book provides readers with a wide range of first-hand accounts, government reports, and media responses that help readers to better understand the events of this unfortunate period of American history.
Publication Date: 2020 (Santa Barbara, California : ABC-CLIO, an imprint of ABC-CLIO, LLC)
Korean-Americans
Minor Feelings: an Asian American Reckoning by
A ruthlessly honest, emotionally charged, and utterly original exploration of Asian American consciousness and the struggle to be human. With sly humor and a poet's searching mind, Hong uses her own story as a portal into a deeper examination of racial consciousness in America today. Finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award for Autobiography, poet and essayist Cathy Park Hong fearlessly and provocatively blends memoir, cultural criticism, and history....As the daughter of Korean immigrants, Cathy Park Hong grew up steeped in shame, suspicion, and melancholy. She would later understand that these "minor feelings" occur when American optimism contradicts your own reality--when you believe the lies you're told about your own racial identity.
Publication Date: 2020 (New York : One World)
Koreans in North America: Their Twenty-First Century Experiences by
This book focuses on Korean Americans' twenty-first century experiences in the U.S. and Canada. It provides basic statistics about Koreans' immigration, settlement and business patterns, while it also provides meaningful qualitative data on families, gender issues and ethnic identity, and religious affiliations. Includes an annotated bibliography.
Call Number: Kroch Library Asia E184.K6 K6553 2013Publication Date: 2012 (Lanham, Md. : Lexington Books, c2013)
Korean-Americans: Past, Present, and Future by
History of Korean immigration to the U.S., with chapters on different aspects of the Korean experience, including religion, family and gender issues, adoptees, acculturation, politics.
Call Number: E184.K6 K586 2004Publication Date: 2004 (Elizabeth, NJ : Hollym International Corp)
Korean American Families in Immigrant America: How Teens and Parents Navigate Race by
This book turns the tables on the conventional imagination of the Asian American immigrant family, arguing that, in fact, families are often on the same page about the challenges and difficulties navigating the U.S.'s racialized landscape. The book draws on a survey with over 200 Korean American teens and over one hundred parents to provide context,
Call Number: E184.K6 O44 2018Publication Date: 2018 ( New York : New York University Press)
Younger-Generation Korean Experiences in the United States: Personal Narratives on Ethnic and Racial Identities by
(Online also; click on title) [This book] compares the formation of the ethnic identities of two distinct cohorts of Korean Americans - -the first growing up in the 1960s and early 1970s and the second growing up during the 1980s and early 1990s. Through personal essays, the book explores four influential factors of ethnic identity: retention of ethnic culture; participation in ethnic social networks; links to the mother country and its global power and influence; and experiences with racial prejudice and discrimination. The essays reflect certain major changes between the two cohorts.
Call Number: E184.K6 Y76 2014Publication Date: 2014 ( Lanham, Maryland : Lexington Books)
