Asian-American Studies: A Research Guide: Politics, Government and Economics

A political directory of over 4,000 Asian Pacific American elected and major appointed officials at the federal, state, and local levels for 39 states, American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands and Virgin Islands. Includes essays by prominent political scientists, commentators, and community-based electoral activists; voter exit polls; census data, and policy research reports. This issue is dedicated to the late Senator Daniel Inouye of Hawaii.

Since 1790, Congressional legislation on federal immigration and naturalization policy has been harsh on Asian immigrants, although less so since 1965. This documentary history covers all major immigration laws passed by Congress since 1790. [Includes] an overview of the basis on which Congress has restricted Asian immigration; discussions of particular immigration legislation, showing the significance to Asian Americans and the documents themselves. With California's passage of the Save Our State Initiative in November 1994, fear of aliens has once again appeared in U.S. legislative history.

(Online also; click on title) [This book] is the most comprehensive study to date of Asian American political behavior, including such key measures as voting, political donations, community organizing, and political protests. The book examines why some groups participate while others do not, why certain civic activities are deemed preferable to others, and why Asian socioeconomic advantage has so far not led to increased political clout. Based on data from the authors' 2008 National Asian American Survey of more than 5,000 Chinese, Indian, Vietnamese, Korean, Filipino, and Japanese Americans. The book shows that the motivations for and impediments to political participation are as diverse as the Asian American population. Even among Asian groups, socioeconomic advantage does not necessarily translate into high levels of political participation.

[This book] contains a chronology of East Asian American political history from pre-World War II and post-World War II, including protests, social movements, electoral politics, and political office holding at every level. Includes case studies of specific events and movements. Annotated bibliography; collection of primary documents with interpretative essays

.[This book] transcends simple questions of voting behavior and elective office, going all the way back to early immigration laws and all the way forward to ethnic targeting. For the first time, this book brings together original sources on key topics influencing Asian American politics, knit together by expert scholar.. Court cases, legislation, demographics, and key pieces on topics ranging from gender to Japanese American redress to the Los Angeles riots to Wen Ho Lee round out this innovative reader on a politically active group likely to grow in number and electoral impact.

After the fall of Saigon in 1975, during a campaign for the repatriation of 130,000 refugees in the United States, actress Tippi Hedren, known best for her role in Alfred Hitchcock's The Birds (1963), connected Vietnamese immigrants to the art of the manicure. Her long, decorated nails made an impression on a visit to Hope Village, so Hedren had her personal stylist flown in to teach a class to twenty women. From this meager handful grew a revolution. Now, Vietnamese-Americans own most of the market share in nail salons, an industry valued by a conservative estimate at around $7 billion.

[This book] explores how racial and ethnic differences are created and commodified through advertisements, marketing, and public relations. Drawing from periods of fieldwork she conducted over four years at Asian American ad agencies in New York, San Francisco, and Los Angeles, Shankar illustrates the day-to-day process of creating and producing broadcast and internet advertisements. (Also available in print).