India
- Indiastat ( Indiastat.com: Revealing India Statistically)
This link opens in a new window
May work better in Internet Explorer. Only one user at a time permitted. To access database, click on Login button on the top bar; then click on "IP Login" -- "Welcome Cornell University" should appear. REMEMBER TO LOG OUT (TOP BAR). - Ministry of Statistics and Programme ImplementationOfficial web site. Scroll down for links to various types of data.
- Census of IndiaOfficial web site for Census information. Government of India, Ministry of Home Affairs.
- Open Government Data PlatformSeveral ways to look up data: by Indicator (6 broad subject areas), Visualization Gallery (data in graphics), Sectors (A-Z choice of topics).
- CEIC Data Manager"...economic, industrial and financial time-series data. EIC also offers 18 macro-economic concepts, and 1,400,000 time series. Data comes from analysts on the ground and the prime national and regional statistical agencies and major industrial data issuing organizations of each country covered." Includes India Premium Database with extensive economic and financial information. User must create an account using cornell.edu address.
- Digital South Asia Library: Statistics"Statistical Abstract Relating to British India"
Abstracts in digital book form or Excel spreadsheet form for spans of years covering 1840-1920. - District-Level Database for Indian Agriculture and Allied SectorsTata/Cornell Institute open-access database. "he District-Level Database for Indian Agriculture and Allied Sectors brings together socioeconomic, environmental, nutrition, and health-related data for 571 districts in 20 Indian states from 1966-2015, providing a link between country-level macro data and household-level microdata. With 74 datasets, 1,030 variables, and more than 11 million data points, the platform enables users to access a range of factors, including crops, irrigation, infrastructure, gross domestic product, and more."
- Prowessdx"Prowessdx delivers data for over 40,000 Indian companies, covering the financial performance of companies. This includes listed companies, unlisted public companies and private companies of all sizes and ownership groups. It contains time-series data since 1990.
Cornell subscribes to this but users need to create a (free) account. Use the link in the library catalog record for Prowessdx.
India: A Reference AnnualCall Number: Ref + DS 405 I32Publication Date: New Delhi. Publications Division, Ministry of Information and Broadcasting.(Library has 2005-to current; most current on Reference; earlier in Annex 1953-2004). Annual with chapters covering social, economic, environmental, scientific, and development issues, from Agriculture to Youth Affairs and Sports. Many statistical tables, some include comparative years.- Census of India, 2011Call Number: + HA 4587 (located in Kroch asia stacks, level 1. Note: Some of the volumes are in ++ section)Publication Date: [New Delhi] : Office of the Registrar General & Census Commissioner, India, Ministry of Home Affaris, Govt. of India, 2011Description: Set of 36 "series"of volumes covering regions of India. Each region has its own sub-call number code; for example, Tamul Nadu HA 4587 T35; Madhya Pradesh HA 4587 M32 C473. The volumes are on the shelf in alphabetical order.by region.
- Administrative Atlas (Census of India 2011: Administrative Atlas)Call Number: + G 2281 F7 I53 2012 (42 volumes)Publication Date: New Delhi : Office of the Registrar General & Census Commissioner, India, c2012-Description: Covers 34 administrative regions. (Some volumes have two or three parts)
- Tribal at a Glance: a Statistical Profile byCall Number: Ref HT 720 T697 2008Publication Date: New Delhi : Manak Publications, 2008.Description: Statistical tables covering range of topics regarding the “scheduled tribes” and “scheduled castes” of India. Includes detailed list of scheduled tribes and castes by state, and state-wise list of scheduled areas (villages).
Measuring India: the Nation's Statistical System by
[This book] discusses the various concepts, definitions, and procedures involved in collecting, compiling, and publishing these data.... Covering statistics on agricultural, industrial, labour, financial, as well as key socio-economic indicators of education, health, environment, this book also compares statistical systems followed in India with those followed internationally. It further elaborates on the comparability of different datasets over time and across organizations pointing out gaps in the available statistics.
Call Number: HA 4581 S18Publication Date: 2018 ( New Delhi, India : Oxford University Press)
A Population History of India: From the First Modern People to the Present Day by
[This book] provides an account of the size and characteristics of India's population stretching from when hunter-gatherer homo sapiens first arrived in the country - very roughly seventy thousand years ago - until the modern day. It is a period during which the population grew from just a handful of people to reach almost 1.4 billion, It draws together archaeology, history, and politics...
Call Number: HB3639 .D97 2018Publication Date: 2018 ( Oxford : Oxford University Press)
