International Sources
- Data and Statistics GuidesThis is a list of online statistics research guides developed by Cornell librarians. (Click on link, or go to library catalog home page, use Research tab to find the Guides, then choose Data and Statistics from the Subject Guides list).
- International Data SourcesThe International section (from "A Guide to International and US Statistics Sources") has an extensive list of types of sources with links to individual titels..
- Migration Policy InstituteMaps with country information for Immigration, Emigration & Net Migration; Humanitarian Migration (Refugees & Asylum Seekers); Trends Over Time; Global Remittances.
International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-2005 by Call Number: Olin REF HA 4675 .M552 2007 +Publication Date: 2007 (Basingstoke, Hampshire ; New York : Palgrave Macmillan)[This source] provides key economic and social indicators for the last 255 years, serving as an essential reference source. Includes a guide to some of the major statistical sources for each country under "Official Sources." Earlier editions of this book are available; check online catalog for holdings and for latest edition.
SP's Military YearbookCall Number: U10.I39 M64Publication Date: 1965-current (New Delhi : Guide Publications)Detailed armaments and military capacities of world's countries, in the Regional Balance section of the volume. Each country has brief essay updating military security, and details of navy, air force, army and armaments.
Hard-to-Find or Unexpected Sources
- Census of the British empire. 1901 Report with summary and detailed tables for the several colonies..area, houses, and population; also population classified by ages, condition as to marriage, occupations, birthplaces, religions, [educ. & infirmities] by Description: Full text online; click on title. Chapters cover all British colonies, including Indian Empire, Ceylon, Straits Settlements, Federated Malay States, State of North Borneo, Hong Kong, Wei-Hai-Wei, Brief census estimates for Brunei and Sarawak, no tables. Some chapters also have statistics from previous census years.Call Number: Print copy: ++ HA1110 1901 (Library Annex)Publication Date: London : Printed for H.M. Stationery Off., by Darling & Son, Ltd., 1906.
- History of the Colonies of the British Empire in the West Indies, South America, North America, Asia, Austral-Asia, Africa and Europe comprising the area, agriculture ... of each colony, with the charters and the engraved seals by Originally published as "Statistics of the Colonies of the British Empire" in 1839, republished 1843 with "History of the Colonies...." title. Both versions are available full-text on Hathi Trust.Call Number: + JV 1025 M38 1967 (located in Olin Library)Publication Date: London, Dawsons of Pall Mall, 1967
- Statistical Abstract Relating to British India Covers approximately 10-year periods between 1840 - 1920. Extensive coverage for territories of British India and for topics (population, religions, occupation, education, agriculture, shipping, revenues, railways, post office/mail, military; number of people killed by wild beasts; police and prisoners, more.
- Twentieth Century Impressions of Ceylon: its history, people, commerce, industries, and resources Chapter on Vital Statistics of Ceylon (p. 869-874) contains stats on immigration & nationalities, population and demographics; some interesting tables, i.e. "racial distribution of causes of death."Call Number: DS489 .W94 ++ (in Library Annex)Publication Date: 1907 (London : Lloyd's Greater Britain Pub. Co)
- The Directory for Bangkok and Siam 1913 by Comprehensive directory of info includes names of people in gov't., businesses & trade, legations, transportation, etc. Population statistics with nationality breakdowns; list of foreign residents and separate "Ladies" list.Call Number: DS578 .D57 2017Publication Date: 2017 (Bangkok, Thailand : White Lotus Press)
- Handbook of the Netherlands East Indies Description: Library has 1924-1930 volumes. Population chapter has tables for "composition" --Europeans, Foreign Orientals, Natives (male & female); Numerical strength & density of various districts; Municipal populations (divided by Europeans, Foreign Orientals, Natives).Call Number: DS 611 A3 + (Library Annex)Publication Date: Batavia [etc.]
- A Descriptive Dictionary of British Malaya by Description: Population statistics tables for 1856, 1866, 1871, 1881, 1891 (p. 305). p. 306, the1891 census, has "nationality" breakdown (each group has further detailed ethnic breakdowns) -- Europeans & Americans; Eurasians; Chinese; Malays & other Natives of the Archipelago; Tamils & other Natives of India; Other Nationalities [10 others listed]. Male/Female counts for Singapore, Penang Island/Province Wellesley/Dindings; Malacca.Call Number: Ref + DS592 .D41 (located in Kroch Asia reading room. There are copies on microfilm and fiche, and a 2002 edition in Kroch Library stacks, level B1, DS 592 D46x 2002)Publication Date: London : "London and China Telegraph" Office, 1894.
- Statistical Abstract for the Netherlands East-Indies 1927 (Statistisch Jaaroverzicht van Nederlandsch-Indië 1927). Comprensive stats yearbook compiled from data by gov.'t departments in colonial Indonesia Some retrospective years included.
- Statistisch Jaaroverzicht van Nederlandsch-IndiëComprehensive statistics, volumes 1922-1938. 1922-1926 are full-text online at Hathitrust. All (1922-1929) are in Library Annex HA 1811 A3 +.
- Indisch verslag II, Statistisch jaaroverzicht van Nederlandsch-Indië over het jaarCall Number: HA 1811 A3 + (in Library Annex)Volumes 1930-1940. Comprehensive statistics. Continuation of Statistisch jaaroverzicht van Nederlandsch-Indië .
- The Story of the Philippines : Natural riches, industrial resources, statistics of productions, commerce and population; by Statistics, p. 99-114. Area comparisons with U.S.; Population, including Chinese, Moors/Mohametans, Heathen; climate; minerals; agriculture; commerce (imports & exports) & transportation; revenue and expenses; military (defeated Spanish troops & equipment, American forces).Call Number: DS659 .H19Publication Date: 1898 (Chicago : Our possessions publishing co)
- The Tribes and Castes of the Northwestern Provinces and Oudh byCall Number: GN 58 I4 C76 + 1896 (in Library Annex)Publication Date: 18964-vol set. First c100 introductory pages of vol.1 include tribes & castes (organized by Aryan, Medium, Dravidian groups) with anthropometric tables of various physical measurements. Vol.1-4 contain alphabetical list of tribes & castes with 1891 census data.