Reference Sources for US Foreign Policy/Foreign Relations
- The SHAFR Guide Online : An Annotated Bibliography of U.S. Foreign Relations since 1600"... a near-comprehensive, 2.1 million-word online annotated bibliography of historical work covering the entire span of U.S. foreign relations. It aims to jump-start the research of both students from high school to graduate school as well as the most advanced scholars."
Oxford Encyclopedia of the History of American Foreign Relations by Publication Date: 2021"Authors provide surveys of the scholarly literature related to each topic, along with guides to primary sources, including a rapidly growing number of online collections. The collection covers traditional topics like Anglo-American relations or the role of nuclear weapons in US diplomacy, while also considering newer themes like gender, LGBTQ issues, and environmental diplomacy." [publisher]
The New Cambridge History of American Foreign Relations, 4 vols. by Call Number: In print and online.
Chronological History of U.S. Foreign Relations by Print title.
Year-by-year coverage of U.S. foreign relations activities from 1776 through 2000;
Extensive chronological cross-references, bibliography, and cumulative index.
Researching National Security and Intelligence Policy by Print title.
"Examines and annotates the rich variety of unclassified print and electronic resources available to users studying the formulation of national security policy in the U.S. and throughout the English-speaking world."Galve Virtual Reference Library: Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy by
Note: From the link to Gale Virtual Reference Library, scroll down to Search within the Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy.
Treats concepts and doctrines, policymaking, commerce and science, human rights and arms control, with specific articles on topics ranging from anti-imperialism to environmental diplomacy, from refugee policies to terrorism and countermeasures. Includes a chronology.
Also available in print: Olin Library Reference E183.7 .E52x 2002
Encyclopedia of U.S. Foreign Relations by Publication Date: 2002Print title.
Prepared under the auspices of the Council on Foreign Relations,
Examines the political, economic, military, and cultural interactions of the federal government and the American people with nations and peoples abroad from 1776 to 2001.
Oxford Reference: The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Military and Diplomatic History by Publication Date: 2013-01-08Note: From the link to Oxford Reference, scroll down to Search within the Oxford Encyclopedia of American Military and Diplomatic History. Offers "assessment and analysis of the key episodes, issues and actors in the military and diplomatic history of the United States. Entries are written by the top diplomatic and military historians and key scholars of international relations from within the American academy, supplemented with entries from foreign-based academics, in the United Kingdom and elsewhere.
