Film Review Indexes
Online Resources:
- Entertainment industry magazine archive"An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews."--Publisher description.
- Periodicals Index OnlineIndex to thousands of periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences across more than 300 years, covering each periodical from its first issue. Every article is indexed. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other languages. Previously known as Periodicals Contents Index (PCI).
- ProQuest Historical NewspapersContains the full text of film reviews appearing in the New York TImes, Chicago Tribune, the Los Angeles Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, and several other historically important newspapers.
- ProQuest Research LibraryProQuest Research Library, formerly known as Periodical Abstracts, is a comprehensive database available through the ProQuest online system. It indexes and abstracts general interest magazines and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. It comprises two components: a core list of periodicals covering about 800 publications, and 15 subject-specific modules that supplement the core list. Modules cover arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international studies, law, military, multicultural studies, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests. Full text of many articles is provided.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982A database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. Reflects the history of 20th century America. Covers these areas: Aeronautics, African-Americans, Aging, Archeology, Astronomy, Automobiles, Biographies, Business, Children, Education, Environment, Fashion, Film, Fine Arts, Food, Foreign Affairs, Gardening, Health, History, Hobbies, Home, Journalism, Leisure Activities, Literature, Medicine, Music, News, Nutrition, Photography, Politics, Popular Culture, Radio, Religion, Science, Sports, Technology, Television, Travel. The complete database covers the years 1890 through 1982.
- Rotten Tomatoes"With more than 100,000 titles and 360,000 review links in its ever-growing database, Rotten Tomatoes offers a fun and informative way to discover the critical reaction on movies from the nation's top print and online film critics, neatly summarized via the Tomatometer™."
Print Resources:
- Film Review IndexCall Number: Olin Reference PN 1995 F483Publication Date: Phoenix: Oryx Press, 1986Lists articles about specific films which have established themselves over the years as being of continuing interest to researchers and students. Coverage begins in 1882; however, the primary focus of this two-volume set begins in 1903. Vol. 1 covers the years from 1882-1949; Vol. 2, from 1950-1985
- Film Review AnnualCall Number: Olin stacks (6th floor) PN 1995 F48Publication Date: 1981-2002Though no longer published, this annual reprinted the full text of reviews from a wide range of newspapers and magazines of full length films released in major markets in the U.S. Arranged by title of the film, entries include credits and playing time. Indexed by critics, cast, producers, and directors.
- Media Review DigestCall Number: Olin stacks (Level B) AI 3 M961+Publication Date: 1973-2006Formerly Multi Media Reviews Index (1970-1973), this is "an annual index to and digest of reviews, evaluations and descriptions of all forms of non-book media appearing in a great variety of periodicals and reviewing serves." Films, filmstrips, spoken word records and tapes and miscellaneous non-book items are included. Each entry provides a brief description, citations to reviews and a review rating.
- New York Times Film ReviewsCall Number: Library Annex PN 1995 N56++Publication Date: 1913-1982 (print)Originally published in 1970 as a six volume set, duplicating Times reviews for the years 1913-1968 with update volumes through 1982. Each volume is arranged in chronological order and gives full texts of reviews which appeared in the Times on a given date. Title access is available through indexes at the end of the volumes. Reviews are signed, though some with initials only. Numerous photographs. Available online in Proquest Historical Newspapers.