Skip to main content

News Research: Finding the News: Early American
Newspapers

A chronological overview of the major resources for finding the news, both historical and recent, with advice for the news researcher. Formerly called Finding the News. Click on the BLUE TABS below to access all sections of this guide.

Early American Newspapers

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers, 1789-1925. From the Library of Congress, high-quality, digitized pages of newspapers from all over the U.S.

Many newspaper titles published in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries in the United States and the Caribbean are available in America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922: including Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 2, 3, and 6, is the place to search for the full text of these remarkable historical documents. Articles are reproduced as PDFs.

African-American Newspapers, 1827-1998 is a major full-text database also searchable separately or as part of America's Historical Newspapers.

Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876, another major full-text database, is also searchable separately or as part of America's Historical Newspapers.

Another useful resource for finding historical U.S. newspapers is American Historical Newspapers Online.

Individual newspaper titles in Early American Newspapers, 1704-1820 (Readex microcard set located on the Lower Level of Olin Library, Microprint 21) are searchable in the Cornell Library Catalog. The following search brings up records for all the newpaper titles in the set: "early american newspapers" and microopaque. Microopaque is the technical term for microcards, an earlier microform technology that mounted the reduced photographic page images on card stock. See the Early American Newspapers Web page for more details.

In addition to the above, the following titles are available online through Accessible Archives:

  • African American Newspapers, The Nineteenth Century. Seven newspapers written by and for African-Americans, published between 1827 and 1902.
  • The Civil War, A Newspaper Perspective. Three newspapers with three different perspectives on the war: The Charleston (SC) Mercury, The New York Herald, and The Richmond (VA) Enquirer. Over 11,000 articles from 2500 issues published between November 1, 1860 and April 30, 1865.
  • Pennsylvania Gazette. Transcribed articles that appeared in this newspaper from 1728 to 1783. The Gazette was published by Benjamin Franklin in Philadelphia.

 

Performing Arts in Colonial American Newspapers is available on CD-ROM only in the Electronic Text Center. Contains selected transcribed articles about music, theater, and dance published in colonial American newspapers between 1690 and 1783, indexed by name subject, genre, and title.