Skip to main content

A Guide to News Research: Where to Find News Articles: Ethnic
News

A chronological overview of the major resources for finding the news, both historical and recent, with advice for the news researcher. Formerly called Finding the News. Click on the BLUE TABS below to access each section of this guide.

Ethnic Newspapers

ProQuest Historical Newspapers [PQHN].

Click on the Change Databases link at the top of the PQHN home page to select
Searchable coverage of the Chicago Defender (1909 to 1975); New York Amsterdam News (1922 to 1993); and Pittsburgh Courier (1911 to 2002).

Ethnic NewsWatch. Stamford, CT: Softline Information, 1960- .

Included in the ProQuest databases, this source contains the searchable full text of over eighty ethnic and minority newspapers in the United States. Several Spanish language newspapers are available; the database is searchable in English and in Spanish.

US Hispanic Newsstream

Full text access to leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs from US publishers in both Spanish and English including El Diario/La Prensa (New York City), La OpiniĆ³n (Los Angeles), La Prensa (San Antonio) and Extra (Chicago).

 

Also:

Black Newspapers Index. Ann Arbor: University Microfilms International, 1977- .
(Africana Reference AI 3 .I365 +)

Provides abstracts and comprehensive indexing of all significant articles in eight major black newspapers: the Afro-American, American Muslim Journal, New York Amsterdam News, Chicago Defender, Call and Post, Journal and Guide, Los Angeles Sentinel, and the Michigan Chronicle.

Black Studies Center: Newspapers section. Chadwyck-Healey.

Click on Newspapers in the View Contents box on the Black Studies Center home page.
Searchable coverage of the Chicago Defender - Daily edition (1956 to 1975); Chicago Defender - Saturday edition (1910 to 1975); New York Amsterdam News - Weekly edition (1911-2002); Pittsburgh Courier - Weekly edition (1911-2002); and selected articles from the  Cleveland Call and Post - Weekly edition (1934-1991).