Tools to help you access eBooks
- Off-campus AccessInstall "Access Anywhere" on your web browser and use it to directly access databases, journals, and e-books that would otherwise be restricted or hidden behind paywalls.
- IF YOU DONT FIND WHAT YOU NEED ONLINEIf you don't find what you need in electronic format, use this link to submit a purchase request. We'll look in all the hard-to-find places for you and if it does exist in electronic form, we can try to purchase access. Let us know what you need & we'll discuss options!
Library Stack
LibraryStack is a database; "a living collection of independent ebooks, audio files, videos and digital documents being published within the fields of contemporary art, design, media studies, cinema, architecture and philosophy."
Art & Architecture ePortal
The Art & Architecture ePortal is a collection of key backlist and out-of-print scholarly works in the fields of art and architectural history published by: The Art Institute of Chicago, The MIT Press, Yale University Press, Harvard Art Museums, and the Yale University Art Gallery.
The portal allows browsing of all images (by artist, title, or date)
Instructors may easily create custom coursepacks.
Licensed eBook & journal Collections
- Wiley Online LibraryProvides full text access to journals, reference works, books, and databases published by Wiley. 70+ books on art & applied arts. Also ebooks on archaeology, architecture, literature, philosophy...
Others
Other examples:
- The Art Institute of Chicago has released catalogues on the work of Monet and Renoir.
- The World of the Japanese Illustrated Book (The Smithsonian Institution)
- LACMA’s catalogue on Southeast Asian Art.
- Dutch Paintings of the Seventeenth Century (National Gallery of Art)
- Rauschenberg Research Project (SFMOMA)
- Discover the Chinese Painting & Calligraphy Collection at the Seattle Art Museum
- The Camden Town Group in Context (Tate)
- Living Collections Catalogue (Walker Art Center)
- French Paintings Catalog (Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art)
- University of California free eBook collection: Art, Art Criticism, Art History, Art Theory, Art & Architecture, etc.
Free eBooks
Art Institute of Chicago Digital Publications
Free eBooks from Guggenheim Museum (via Internet Archive)
Five decades of Metropolitan Museum publications, downloadable, for free.
National Gallery of Art Online Editions
Getty Publications Virtual Library: Free digital backlist titles from the Getty Publications Archive.
Canadian Online Art Book Project (original works commissioned by the Art Canada Institute)
National Library of Australia eBooks
British Museum Online Research PublicationsFree eBook Collections
- Hathi Trust Digital LibraryAs a digital repository for the nation's great research libraries, HathiTrust brings together the immense collections of partner institutions. It was initially conceived as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, the University of California system, and the University of Virginia to establish a repository for those universities to archive and share their digitized collections, and quickly expanded to include additional partners with fast growing treasure of digitized collections.
- Open Access eBooks on JSTORMore than 2,500 Open Access ebooks are now available at no cost to libraries or users. These titles reflect JSTOR’s high standards for quality content and are freely available for anyone in the world to use. Users won’t need to register or log in, and there are no DRM restrictions or limits on chapter PDF downloads or printing.
- Hispanic Digital Library (National Library of Spain; Biblioteca Nacional de España)Provides free access to thousands of digitised documents, including printed books, manuscripts, drawings, engravings, pamphlets, posters, photographs, maps, atlases, music scores, historic newspapers and magazines and audio recordings.
Searching for eBooks in the CUL Catalog
AFTER performing your initial search, Limit your Search to Access: "online" and Format: "books."