Guides and Handbooks, online
- Oxford Handbooks Online (OHO)Scholarly research reviews in article format from the extensive collection of Oxford Handbooks covering psychology. Use the "Browse by Subject" function for more specific results.
- Handbook of Psychology, Second EditionScholarly articles on every aspect of psychology. Volume titles: v. 1. History of psychology -- v. 2. Research methods in psychology -- v. 3. Biological psychology -- v. 4. Experimental psychology -- v. 5. Personality and social psychology -- v. 6. Developmental psychology -- v. 7. Educational psychology -- v. 8. Clinical psychology -- v. 9. Health psychology -- v. 10. Assessment psychology -- v. 11. Forensic psychology -- v. 12. Industrial and organizational psychology.
More Guides and Handbooks
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-5 by Call Number: Olin Library Reference, Oversize RC455.2.C4 D536 2013 +Publication Date: 2013DSM-5 is a classification of mental disorders with associated criteria designed to facilitate more reliable diagnoses of these disorders. With successive editions over the past 60 years, it has become a standard reference for clinical practice in the mental health field. See also Highlights of Changes from DSM-IV-TR to DSM-5 for an extensive overview of the changes in the new edition.
Beginning Research in Psychology by Call Number: Olin Library Oversize BF76.5 .D94x 1995 +Publication Date: 1995This is a guide to experimental, not bibliographic, research methods. It is essentially a textbook for working with numeric data, conducting case studies and observational research, and using statistics. See also The Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods (2004).
International Handbook of Psychology by Call Number: Olin Library Reference, BF38 .I612Publication Date: 1987A country-by-country survey of the state of psychology worldwide. Covers the historical development of the profession, publications, research activities, and the role of psychologists in society. Useful information on organizations and research institutes is also included.
The Handbook of Social Psychology by Call Number: Olin Library Oversize HM251 .L75 1998 +Publication Date: 1998Lengthy, signed essays on the major topics in social psychology are followed by an extensive list of references for further research. There are separate subject and author indexes in the back of each volume. For shorter articles on more topics, see The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social Psychology.
The Psychologist's Companion by Call Number: Olin Library Reference, BF76.8 .S73x 2003Publication Date: 2003"Tailored specifically for undergraduate students, this Companion offers uniquely comprehensive coverage of the topics necessary for successful communication in psychology, making it a valuable resource for research methods and introductory psychology courses. Readers will learn how to effectively plan and write papers in accordance with the latest style guidelines from the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Sixth Edition; present data in posters and talks; and evaluate their own and others' work." --publisher's web site.
