Psychology: A Research Guide: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries--Specific

This reference work explores the psychological, physical and social changes that occur in humans after adolescence until death. Substantial, signed articles with bibliographies.

"[A]pproximately 1,500 entries divided by the major conceptual areas of ASD and PDDs, including: - Research trends and findings - Behavior/speech - Communication - Treatments - Education." (Summary).

"Although the focus is on technical applications, entries also provide the historical context in which behavior therapists have worked, including research issues and strategies. Entries on assessment, ethical concerns, theoretical differences, and the unique contributions of key figures in the movement (including B. F. Skinner, Joseph Wolpe, Aaron T. Beck, and many others) are also included." (Abstract).

Focuses on traditional problems in psychology but reflects new approaches and techniques that have emerged since the 1980s. Some are introductory and provide an overview, others are written at depth and with considerable technical detail. The articles are ranked (Introductory, Intermediate, Advanced), contain extensive bibliographies, and suggest further readings in most cases.

"Contains over 250 articles...dealing with all aspects of human intelligence..., written and edited by the foremost scholars in the world in the field" (Preface). The subject and biographical articles have substantial bibliographies of additional sources. Entries are included for major intelligence tests. Indexed.

An entry point into all of the existing literature [as of 2008] on child development from the fields of psychology, genetics, neuroscience, and sociology.

"The 189 signed articles cover various aspects of human and animal research and provide 26 biographical sketches.... Entries of about a thousand words end with bibliographies. This source provides excellent overviews of topics as preparation for in-depth research" (Choice). Thoroughly indexed.

Explains the meaning of terms and concepts related to specific phobias, forms of therapy, and medicines, and identifies key researchers.

Useful for psychology students, academics and practitioners interested in assessment and measurement.

"This reference work provides a definitive and intellectually rigorous collection of psychological interpretations of the stories, rituals, motifs, symbols, doctrines, dogmas, and experiences of the world's religious and mythological traditions. A broad range of psychological approaches are used in order to help readers understand the form and content of religious experience as well as offer insight into the meanings of religious symbols and themes." (from the publisher's summary).

"This excellent encyclopedia treats more than 400 topics... Each entry contains... clear definitions written and signed by experts, descriptions of current research, references for further reading. Does not include dream interpretation" (Choice).

"More than 600 signed entries cover a comprehensive range of topics in social psychology, especially useful in this burgeoning field newly enriched by contributions from related disciplines. Entries are clearly phrased and the place of individual concepts in the overall field is shown. Covers the history of the discipline, while methods central to research in social psychology are described in detail...." (Guide to Reference).

Extensive entries on Freud, his ideas, and his influence on culture and major thinkers. Substantial bibliographies.

Gives brief definitions for thousands of concepts common to psychiatry and such related disciplines as clinical neurology, constitutional medicine, genetics and eugenics, mental retardation and deficiency, social service, and occupational therapy.

"[M]ore than 1,400 entries will provide information on fundamental approaches and theories, various mental health disorders, assessment tools and psychotherapeutic interventions, and the social, legal, and cultural frameworks that have contributed to debates in abnormal and clinical psychology" (Abstract).

"The Sage Encyclopedia of Psychology and Gender is an innovative exploration of the intersection of gender and psychology-topics that resonate across the disciplines and inform our everyday lives. The Encyclopedia looks at issues of gender, identity, and psychological processes at the individual as well as the societal level" (Abstract).

The first encyclopedia to cover inclusively both quantitative and qualitative research approaches, this set provides clear explanations of 1,000 methodologies, avoiding mathematical equations when possible with liberal cross-referencing and bibliographies. Each volume includes a list of works cited, and the third contains a comprehensive index and lists of person names, organizations, books, tests, software, major concepts, surveys, and methodologies. (American Libraries, May 2005).

"[E]xamines the contemporary landscape of all the key theories and theorists, presenting them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses." (Abstract).