LibGuides: Psychology: A Research Guide: Article Databases & Indexes

Periodical Indexes

PsycINFO
Access to the international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, and linguistics. Includes applied psychology, communication systems, developmental psychology, educational psychology, experimental human and animal psychology, personality, physical and psychological disorders, physiological psychology and intervention, professional personnel and issues, psychometrics, social processes and issues, sports psychology and leisure, and treatment and prevention.
PsycARTICLES
A searchable database of full-text articles from journals published by APA and allied organizations since 1988. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology. For a broader search use PsycINFO.

Child Development Abstracts and Bibliography
Call Number: Mann Library, HQ750.A1 N3
Covers some journals not indexed in PsycINFO; all aspects of child development are covered in a subject arrangement. Issued three times/year; annual author and subject cumulations. Published by the University of Chicago Press for the Society for Research in Child Development

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.--About Google scholar.

MEDLINE (PubMed)
Provides access to over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Includes links to many sites providing full-text articles and other related resources.
MEDLINE (ISI Web of Knowledge)
An alternate version of MEDLINE

PEP Web
PEP Web provides access to the PEP Web archive, which contains both books and journal articles. The book archive includes the full text of the Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud, Freud's letters to his major collaborators and the full text of the major works by Wilfred Bion, Melanie Klein and Donald Winnicott along with other major psychoanalytic authors. The journals in the archive presently include the full text many premier English-language journals in psychoanalysis.
Web of Science
A multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts covering the literature of the social sciences. It indexes 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. The unique feature of SSCI is that it allows the user to find related material based on where a particular reference has been cited.