Victims
- Biographic DatabaseYale University's Cambodian Genocide Program database of over 19,000 victims (as of 2001) and of Khmer Rouge officials and officers. Searchable by specific name or by alphabetical list.
- Tuol Sleng Confessions and PhotographsCall Number: Archives 4883 (Kroch Rare & Manuscripts Library)Publication Date: 1991-1993.(catalog record, description and lists) 213 reels microfilm, filmed under direction of Cornell Southeast Asia collection at Tuol Sleng Museum of Genocide. Transcripts of 4300 confessions obtained from prisoners, and internal prison documents. Binders containing five thousand photographs of Tuol Sleng prisoners. (Click on title to see Finding Aid.)
- Gallery of S-21 Prisoner PhotographsMore than 5100 photos of prisoners, from Tuol Sleng Image Database [Cambodian Genocide Project]
Guk Dual Slaeṅ: Liste des Victimes Emprisonnées & Exterminées au Camp S-21 dans la Régime Pol Pot/Ieng SaryCall Number: HV6295.C2 G96 1979a (Rare Books Library; copy in Kroch Asia Reference; circulating copy in Library Annex)Publication Date: 1979 ([Kampuchea] : Musée du Crime Génocide Tuol-sleng)The names are organized by category, noting place of arrest, occupation, date arrested, and date of extermination.
1) Haute Personnalite du Cadre Revolutionaire 2) Ouvriers et Ouvriers Specialises 3) Diverses Populations 4) Eleve et Etudiant 5) Instituteur et Professeur 6) Infirmier et Docteur 7) Ingenieurs 8) Fonctionnaires de l'Ancien Regime 9) Militaire de l'Ancien Regime 10) Etudiants et Fonctionnaires Provenant des Pays Etrangers 11) Les Prisonniers Etrangers
Bophana: Love in the Time of the Khmer Rouge by Call Number: DS554.83.B67 B43 2010Publication Date: 2010 ( [Cambodia] : Cambodia Daily Press)Author Becker discovered Hout Bopahan's file at Tuol Sleng and the letters, in Khmer, French and English, between Bophana and her husband, her childhood love Ly Sitha (Mit Deth). Their letters mixing French, English and Khmer languages eventually betrayed them. Becker's book tells their story. Deth was imprisoned and executed; Bophana died in Tuol Sleng prison in 1977, at 25 years old. Her story was made into a film directed by Rithy Panh, and the Cambodian film archive was named after her. Collection of photos included.
The Killing Fields by Call Number: Oversize DS554.8 .K475 1996 ++ Kroch Asia LibraryPublication Date: 1996 (Santa Fe, N.M. : Twin Palms Publishers)Photographs of one hundred people about to be executed, described by Vann Nath as just having arrived at Tuol Sleng and their blindfolds taken off: "bruised, crying, exhausted, famished, disoriented with no idea where they are." Only seven were not killed. (Vann Nath is an artist who spent one year as a prisoner in Tuol Sleng.).
Genocide Sites in Cambodia, 1975-1979 by Call Number: DS554.8 .G46 2001 + (Kroch Asia Library)Publication Date: 2001 ([New Haven, CT] : Cambodian Genocide Program, Yale University)Atlas showing locations of burial sites, prisons, memorials.
Le Genocide Khmer Rouge: Une Analyse Demographique by Call Number: DS554.8 .S63 1995Publication Date: 1995 (Paris : Harmattan)(In French) With text, tables and graphs, the author estimates the number of people who died from "unnatural causes' in the Khmer Rouge period, 1975-1979, as well as demographics under Lon Nol (1970-1975) and Vietnamese rule (1979-1989). Graphics include analysis by causes of death, ages, gender, education, occupation, provinces, methods of execution.
- Victim-Former Khmer Rouge (VFKR) dialogue pilot project(From SEADL database). The project aimed to rebuild and understand the fragmented relationship between victims and their direct perpetrators, who often live in the same villages. The "academic" version tells about researchers, NGO's, and donors in the field of transitional justice to find ways to cope with political violence at the community level rather than through tribunals and commissions; the "Cambodian" version aims to inspire dialogue among local Cambodian communities about their role in finding justice, healing, and reconciliation" when many citizens feel reconciliation is impossible.
- Demography of Genocide in Southeast Asia: The Death Tolls in Cambodia, 1975-79, and East Timor 1975-80author Ben Kiernan compares the two genocides, where over 1/5 of the population were killed in each.