Tuol Sleng and the Cambodian Genocide: S-21 Prison (Tuol Sleng)

(Microfilm) Lists of prisoners killed at Tuol Sleng; Regulations at Tuol Sleng; New Statesman article 2 May 1980 ('Bureaucracy of Death: Documents from Inside Pol Pot's Torture Machine"); explanatory notes and comments by Barnett and Chanthou Boua. Documents in Khmer script or in French.

(catalog record with descriptive list) 213 reels microfilm, filmed under direction of Cornell Southeast Asia collection at Tuol Sleng Museum of Genocide. Transcripts of 4300 confessions obtained from prisoners, and internal prison documents. Binders containing five thousand photographs of Tuol Sleng prisoners. (Click on title to see Finding Aid.)

"Oral Histories from Tuol Sleng Prison." Bou Meng and Chum Mei, and a former guard, Him Huy, and others were interviewed for these films in 2006, which relate the historical context of the Khmer Rouge, and what they witnessed and experienced under the Khmer Rouge. Film includes many drawings done by Bou Meng.
[Note: film may not work in Chrome]

David Chandler examines the Khmer Rouge phenomenon by focusing on one of its key institutions, the secret prison "S-21." When invading Vietnamese troops discovered the prison in 1979, murdered bodies lay strewn about and instruments of torture were still in place. An extensive archive containing photographs of victims, cadre notebooks, and DK publications was also found. Chandler utilizes evidence from the S-21 archive as well as materials that have surfaced in Phnom Penh. He also interviews survivors of S-21 and former workers from the prison.

Bou Meng describes his arrest by the Khmer Rouge, escaping death and further torture in Tuol Sleng when his talent for drawing was discovered, and meeting artist Vann Nath in prison. He relates the brutalities he suffered and witnessed, and describes the S-21 staff. Included are photos and some of his drawings.

Account of the artist's experiences in Tuol Sleng prison, 1978-1979. Some of Vann Nath's paintings of life (and death) in the prison are reproduced in the book.

Exhibition in Munich and Tuol Sleng in 2017 of photographs of Tuol Sleng prison interiors, victims, and other images from the Khmer Rouge "death machine." With text in German and English.

(Collection description and list). 12 boxes. "Reports on conflict in Cambodia; annual reports of the Commission, photographs and miscellaneous papers on "Cambodia Witness" photograph exhibit, "Khmer Rouge Prison Documents," photocopies of documents from Khmer Rouge prison archives, and oversize proof sheets of photographs of prisoners and guards at the S-21 (Tuol Sleng) prison-execution facility in Phnom Penh.." (Click on title to see the Finding Aid)

(includes CD-ROM) Guide to archival collection #4499, Cambodia Documentation Commission records, and collection #4883, Tuol Sleng Prison confessions and photographs.