Background
Cambodian Genocide: the Essential Reference Guide by Publication Date: 2022 (Santa Barbara, California : ABC-CLIO)This book includes essays examining various aspects of the Cambodian Genocide, A-Z entries dealing with leaders, ideals, movements, and events; a collection of primary documents; a chronology; and a comprehensive bibliography.
- Cambodia Genocide DatabasesCambodia Genocide Program of Yale University. Includes Publications (online articles), U.S. Involvement in Cambodia, and Links (Cambodia Resources and more) as well as descriptions of the databases in the CGP.
- Chronology of Cambodian Events Since 1950Covers 1950 to 1999, the U.N. recommendation to establish a tribunal on the crimes of the Khmer Rouge period.
- Documentattion Center of CambodiaLocated in Phnom Penh, founded by Yale University after 1994 U.S. Congress Cambodian Genocide Justice Act. Center is a collection point for archives and documents relating to Khmer Rouge and the genocide. Archives (see under topic Justice) include documents, audio, film, photographs.
The Pol Pot Regime: Race, Power, and Genocide in Cambodia Under the Khmer Rouge, 1975-79 by Call Number: DS554.8 .K584 2008Publication Date: 2008 (Yale University Press); 3rd ed.This edition takes the story up to 2008 and the UN-sponsored Khmer Rouge tribunal. "Perhaps the most complete [account of Pol Pot's terror] and the closest to Cambodian sources." --Economist- Constitution of Democratic Kampuchea, adopted Dec.14, 1975(English version online begins on page 5 of "Democratic Kampuchea, A Workers' and Peasants' State in South-East Asia,"
Print versions in English (+ KNM2064.51976 .A6 1976b ) and French (Pamphlet JQ Cambodia 11) are in the Library Annex, 
Cambodia: Year Zero by Call Number: DS554.8 .P79 1978Publication Date: 1978 ( New York : Holt, Rinehart and Winston)(Translation of Cambodge année zéro.). The author was a French priest who monitored Khmer radio broadcasts and interviewed refugees in Thailand who related horrors they had witnessed, descriptions often at first denied as anti-Khmer propaganda.
- Literacy and Education under the Khmer Rouge[from Cambodia Genocide Studies Program] Khmer Rouge's plans and actions regarding literacy and education. Includes information on newspapers and magazines.
- From Sideshow to GenocideThis site provides information about the situation of Cambodia before and during the Khmer Rouge. It also contains stories of survivors of the Khmer Rouge period.
When the War Was Over: Cambodia and the Khmer Rouge Revolution by Call Number: DS554.8 .B43x 1998Publication Date: 1998 (New York : PublicAffairs)Journalist Becker, graduate of U. Washington Asian Studies, covered Cambodia for the Washington Post in the 1970's. Book describes rise of Cambodian Communist party, Lon Nol regime, Pol Pot's rise to power, Vietnam defeat of Khmer Rouge. "detailed sketch of the most tragic period in Cambodian history."
- Communist Party Power in Kampuchea (Cambodia) : documents and discussion(Cornell Southeast Asia Program Data Paper no. 106). Author Timothy Carney, U.S. Foreign Service Officer with 3 years at US Embassy Phnom Penh. Data Paper covers history of Cambodian Communist Party and organization of the Khmer Rouge, their ideology and programs, with bibliography of sources. Documents include the "Manifesto" and two articles from periodical Revolutionary Young Men and Women; [inspector of primary education] Ith Sarin's "9 Months with the Maquis" and "Life in the Bureaus [offices] of the Khmer Rouge" (both articles describe people,
organizational workings and regulations); "A Short Guide for Application of Party Statutes" (party membership, duties and rules); biographical sketches and a Khmer communist glossary.
Cambodia (World Bibliographical Series) by Call Number: DS554.3 .J378x 1997 (print copy in Asia Reference)Publication Date: 1997 (anta Barbara, Calif. : Clio Press)Detailed annotated bibliographical entries. History section covers Lon Nol period 1970-1975 (pp.92-96); Democratic Kampuchea 1975-1979 (pp.96-105). Check library catalog for the titles; library has most of them.- Selected, Annotated, English-language Bibliography of the Kampuchean Revolution byCall Number: DS 510 S7258+ (in Library Annex)Publication Date: 1981 (Southeast Asian Research Materials Group, National Library of Australia)Article from SEARMG Newsletter, no.18, May 1981. 88 entries, books and articles, covering the revolution and Khmer Rouge period as well as background material. Organized by period, well-annotated.
Asia Information & Reference
Carole Atkinson
Contact:
Kroch Library 180
CornellUniversity
Ithaca, NY, 14853
Phone: 607-255-8199
asiaref@cornell.edu
CornellUniversity
Ithaca, NY, 14853
Phone: 607-255-8199
asiaref@cornell.edu