Quick Guide to Humanities Resources
A quick Guide to resources most helpful in particular to humanities doctoral students and graduates:
ImaginePhD - use this tool to discover the many career possibilities, take self-assessments to hone in on your super-strengths and discover where you can apply your talents
O*NET - a search tool to discover jobs based on your knowledge, skills, abilities and values, according to the job family of most interest to you
Beyond the Professoriate - chock full of tips and tricks to translate your dissertation skills into the language of your future employer
Non-Academic Career Options for PhDs in the Humanities and Social Sciences - a great overview of many roles where you can put your skills to work, compiled by Columbia University's Center for Career Education
Five truths about leaving academia with a PhD by Roostervane
Philosophers in Industry - an informal directory with the purpose of helping academic philosophers network outside of academia.
Philosophers without borders
Resource for Career Planning from the Modern Language Association.
Cornell Center for Social Sciences - Workshops on a variety of data related tools and topics.
Cornell Library Immersion Program and Resources for Humanities and Social Science Graduate Students
Databases & Directories of Think Tanks & N.G.O.s
See the Directory of Associations to find local, regional, national, and international associations compiled by state and categories. Use keywords from your research with "association" or "society" to find more.
- CIAO Database- - Full text of conference proceedings, think tank articles, some journals, and working papers on international affairs
- Columbia University Lehman Social Sciences Library
- OxResearch - multidiciplinary articles on political developments worldwide
- "Pishu 皮书": China Economy, Public Policy, and Security Database
- PolicyArchive Database - an innovative, new digital archive of global, non-partisan public policy research
- U.S. Department of State - lists policy issues
- World Press Review Library of International Affairs - an index of international think tanks and non-governmental research organizations with hyperlinks
Mentors with Humanities Backgrounds
Inform yourself by reading about and reaching out to humanities grads who have made their way to successful careers outside of academia.
Eric Acree; Cornell University Library, Director, John Henrik Clarke Africana Library; Coordinator of Fine Arts and Music Libraries
Derek Attig (they/them), a History PhD
Liz Murice Alexander
Oumar Ba, editor at the online magazine Africa Is a Country
Michelle Boyd (Inkwell Academic Writing Retreats)
Rebecca Colesworthy, PhD '09 English
Mariano-Florentino (Tino) Cuéllar, President, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
Stephanie J. Hull, PhD, President & CEO, Girls, Inc.
Virginia Kennedy, PhD ’12 (English)
Stephen Kidd, PhD, Executive Director, National Humanities Alliance
Stephen Kim, PhD'20 (English), minor fields in FGSS and American Studies
Emily Levitt, PhD '18, Cultural Anthropology, UX Researcher, Google
Charles Petersen, senior editor at n+1 magazine
Ashley Ruba, UX Researcher, Meta Reality Labs (U of Washington PhD, Psychology, 2019)
Cameron Scott, PhD '02 (Comparative Literature)
Anna Shechtman, senior humanities editor at the Los Angeles Review of Books (LARB)
Lynne Stahl, PhD '15 (English), Humanities Librarian at West Virginia University
Emily Swafford from the American Historical Association
Mia Tootill, MA ’13, PhD’17 (Musicology)
Jennifer Urban, MA ’06, PhD ’08 (Human Development), Author of “Building a Career Outside Academia: A Guide for Doctoral Students in the Behavioral and Social Sciences”, and Professor of Family Science and Human Development, Montclair State University
Janine Utell from the Modern Language Association
Lina Žigelytė, Senior UX Researcher, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (U of Rochester PhD, Visual & Cultural Studies, 2017)
Roles for PhDs
Take advantage of Imagine PhD to explore roles you might not have considered.
UX (User Experience) Researcher -
- this article explains how PhD holders from any discipline are perfectly suited to this role
- UX Researcher starter resources by Tarah Srethwatanakul (UX Researcher at WhatsApp)
- UX resources for beginners by Simon Taylor, Senior Experience Researcher @Twitter