To find the names of employers and salary ranges for Cornell doctoral alumni, as well as survey results of their satisfaction at their job, consult the Graduate School Doctoral Alumni Career Outcomes interactive dashboard. There you can select for your own field, and others closely related, to see where people have ended up. The bottom line? There are many paths to success in a wide variety of careers for PhD graduates from all disciplines!
There is also a growing list of Cornell Postdoctoral Career Outcome survey responses tracked.
Creating Lists of Potential Employers
These are some of the core platforms and databases that will let you create a list of companies or non-profits that match criteria you specify (such as where they are located, their industries, size, etc.).
- GuideStar PremiumSearchable directory that provides detailed information on more than 850,000 nonprofit (501) organizations. Profiles cover mission and programs, financials, leaders, and most importantly, full text via PDF of revenues, expenses, programs, activities, executive salaries and board members.
- UniworldA repository of multinational firms or branch - including wholly or partially owned subsidiary affiliates - operating around the world. Databases are searchable by country, region, state, keyword, zip code or postal code, industry code, revenue and number of employees.
- PitchBookPitchBook is a private equity and venture capital database with in-depth information and statistics on companies, deals and investors. Use PitchBook to locate startups based on criteria like industry, location, or keywords relevant to your expertise. To access Pitchbook, select Log in > Log in with SSO > [Cornell email address].
- Leadership ConnectFormerly Leadership Library, Leadership Connect allows searching and browsing within individual directories or across all directories using single or multiple criteria, such as name, job title, industry, and geographical location.
- Capital IQA unique platform combing detailed information on investment banking, private equity, corporations, investment management, professional services, and brokerage.
- Foundation DirectoryUse to create a list of public and private foundations in the U.S.
Professional Societies and Trade Organizations
Connect with others in your field at conferences you attend; most of these societies offer extensive professional and leadership development opportunities, award or fellowship opportunities, travel grants, links to job postings, etc. Become a member now! To search for others in your field, type in keywords for your research and add the term "association" or "society". A handy database, organized by career pathway, is maintained by Career Cafe.
AAAS (American Association for the Advancement of Science) and AAAS Internships
AAEES (American Academy of Environmental Engineers and Scientists)
AAI (American Association of Immunologists)
AALAS (American Association for Laboratory Animal Science)
ACEHP Alliance for Continuing Education in the Health Professions
ACLS (American Council of Learned Societies)
ACRP (Association for Clinical Research Professionals)
ACS (American Chemical Society)
AGU (American Geophysical Union)
AHA (American Historical Association)
AIBS (American Institute of Biological Sciences)
AIChE (American Institute of Chemical Engineers)
AIMBE (American Institute of Medical and Biological Engineering)
AIPG (American Institute of Professional Geologists)
AISES (American Indian Science and Engineering Society)
AChemS (Association for Chemoreception Sciences)
AmAcad (American Academy of Arts & Sciences)
AMS (American Mathematical Society)
AMS (American Meteorological Society)
AOU (American Ornithologists' Union)
APHA (American Public Health Association)
APLU (Association of Public & Land-Grant Universities)
APS (American Physical Society)
APS (American Physiological Society)
APS (American Phytopathological Society)
ASA (American Society of Agronomy)
ASA (American Statistical Association)
ASAIO (American Society for Artificial Internal Organs)
ASAP (Association of Strategic Alliance Professionals)
ASBMB (American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology)
ASCB (American Society for Cellular Biology)
ASEE (American Society for Engineering Education)
ASHG (American Society of Human Genetics)
ASHS (American Society for Horticultural Science)
ASM (American Society for Microbiology)
ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers)
ASPB (American Society of Plant Biologists)
ASPET (American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics)
AUTM (formerly Association of University Technology Managers)
AWG (Association for Women Geoscientists)
AWIS (Association for Women in Science)
AWM (Association for Women in Mathematics)
BIO (Biotechnology Industry Organization)-see also state affiliates like NYBIO, MASSBIO, NJBIO, etc.
BMES (Biomedical Engineering Society)
BSA (Botanical Society of America)
CSSA (Crop Science Society of America)
ES (Endocrine Society)
ESA (Entomological Society of America)
FASEB (Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology)
GSA (Geological Society of America)
Health Research Alliance (a collaborative of non-profits)
IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers)
IFT (Institute of Food Technologists)
ISBE (International Society for Behavioral Ecology)
ISCE (International Society of Chemical Ecology)
LES (Licensing Executives Society)
MedTech (New York Biomedical and Medical Technology trade organization)
MLA (Modern Language Association
MSLS (Medical Science Liaison Society)
NABR (National Association for Biomedical Research)
NAS (National Academies) includes the National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council
NCGA (National Corn Growers Association)
NCURA (National Council of University Research Administrators)
NHA (National Humanities Alliance)
NOBCChE (National Organization of Black Chemists and Chemical Engineers)
NORDP (National Organization of Research Development Professionals)
NSBE (National Society of Black Engineers)
NYAS (New York Academy of Sciences)
Optica ( formerly Optical Society of America)
oSTEM (Out in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics)
PhRMA (Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America)
PDA (Parenteral Drug Association)
PSNA (Phytochemical Association of North America)
S4SN (Society for Social Neuroscience)
SACNAS (Society for Advancement of Chicanos and Native Americans in Science)
SBN (Society for Behavioral Neuroscience)
SCDM (Society for Clinical Data Management)
SDB (Society for Developmental Biology)
SETAC (Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry)
SFN (Society for Neuroscience)
SIAM (Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics)
SICB (Society for Integrative and Comparative Biology)
Sigma Xi (Scientific Research Society)
SIVB (Society for In Vitro Biology)
SMI (Society for Mucosal Immunology)
SOT (Society of Toxicology)
SPIE (International Society for Optical Engineering)
SPSP (Society for Personality and Social Psychology)
SRA (Society for Research on Adolescence)
SSR (Society for the Study of Reproduction)
SSSA (Soil Science Society of America)
SWE (Society of Women Engineers)
WSSA (Weed Science Society of America)
there are many more engineering societies...and please send us your suggestions for inclusion
Other Resources in Support of Diversity
Cornell resources and support for students through the Graduate School
Graduate and Professional Women's Groups at Cornell
Salary Information
In addition to Indeed and GlassDoor, which you might already be familiar with, there are additional websites to research salaries of the positions you seek. You can also ask professionals in the industry to give you a typical starting salary for someone with your experience level.
- ERI Salary AssessorERI's Salary Assessor allows you to search by occupation, size of company, years of experience, and location. Available on computer 10 in the Management Library.
- Occupational Outlook HandbookOccupational Outlook Handbook, by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, presents career description for Management, Scientific, and Technical Consulting Services which includes salary overviews.
ThinkTanks
Check out the Internship, Fellowship and Job Opportunities on their Individual Websites
American Center for International Labor Solidarity
American Institutes for Research (AIR)
Atlantic Council of the United States
British American Security Information Council
Carnegie Council on Ethics and International Affairs
Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
Center for International Policy
Center for the National Interest
Center for Naval Analyses (CNA)
Center for a New American Security (CNAS)
Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS)
Center for the Study of the Presidency
Competitive Enterprise Institute
Hoover Institution on War, Revolution and Peace
Institute for Defense Analyses
Institute for International Economics
Institute for the Study of Diplomacy
Humanities Societies
Databases & Directories of Think Tanks & N.G.O.s
See the Directory of Associations to find local, regional, national, and international associations compiled by state and categories. Use keywords from your research with "association" or "society" to find more.
- CIAO Database- - Full text of conference proceedings, think tank articles, some journals, and working papers on international affairs
- Columbia University Lehman Social Sciences Library
- OxResearch - multidiciplinary articles on political developments worldwide
- "Pishu 皮书": China Economy, Public Policy, and Security Database
- PolicyArchive Database - an innovative, new digital archive of global, non-partisan public policy research
- U.S. Department of State - lists policy issues
- World Press Review Library of International Affairs - an index of international think tanks and non-governmental research organizations with hyperlinks
Internships and summer fellowships
Search for paid summer research programs travel grants, and fellowships for graduate students and postdoctoral scholars.
A repository of almost 200 federal and private graduate student and postdoctoral fellowship opportunities sortable by application deadline, and amounts. Curated by Johns Hopkins University.
Scholarships, grants, fellowships and postdoctoral award listing called GRAPES curated by UCLA.
Entrepreneurship@Cornell has an internship program--grad students are eligible! Great also for when you might already have a small entrepreneurial company in mind.
Graduate Students - Pathways to Science
Search for postdoc positions and view tips on applying for postdoc positions - Pathways to Science postdoc portal