Primary Sources: Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal: Honduras

The Iran-Contra document collection provides a contemporary record of the political, military and paramilitary operations -- overt, covert and extra-official -- which served as the foundation for the most significant American scandal since Watergate. The collection consists of 4,635 documents totaling approximately 14,000 pages. The bulk of the documentation was produced between the fall of 1983, when Congress first put significant limits on official U.S. assistance to the Nicaraguan Contras, and the end of 1986, when the Iran initiative and the Contra resupply operations were publicly exposed, and official investigations began. Relevant legal papers, including the March 1988 indictment of National Security Council (NSC) officials John Poindexter and Lt. Col. Oliver North, and private operators Richard Secord and Albert Hakim, round out the set. The collection provides documents germane to the immediate scandal as well as to the decisionmaking process, the policies, and operations from which the Iran-Contra Affair evolved.

Microfilm newspaper from 1897.

Papers concerning Maya chronology, hieroglyphs, slabs, and languages, with comparisons to archeological sites in Palestine and Mesopotamia. Collection includes holographic manuscripts, bound and loose, hand copied portions of books, extensive notes in notebooks, large collections of tracings of hieroglyphs, pencil and colored drawings of landscapes, people and artifacts, correspondence, several unpublished papers, drafts and manuscripts for Valentini's Deciphering the Palenque Slabs, Temple of the Tree, The Home and Haunts of the Tulteka, and other untitled works. Notes about jade, gold mines, Christopher Columbus, prehistoric copper and bronze tools, Maya leaders, cliff dwellers, Nahuatl language, Hittites. Drawings of Egyptian, Mesopotamian and Mayan ruins, scenes from Mexico, Panama, Costa Rica. Folder of notes about a trip Valentini took to Washington D.C., includes late 19th century photograph of the Capitol building. Notes are from Valentini's research, studies and observations.

Country files include correspondence and notes, printed material, and newspaper clippings on countries in which the ILGWU had a special interest, especially the Dominican Republic and Honduras. Company files include correspondence, memoranda, notes, and press material on companies with which the ILGWU dealt; especially well-documented is the strike against and negotiations with Leslie Fay. Subject files include correspondence with and collected printed material on labor leaders and politicians, as well as on subjects relating to the garment industry and trade.