Primary Sources: Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal: Haiti

Full title: Haytian papers: a collection of the very interesting proclamations and other official documents, together with some account of the rise, progress, and present state of the kingdom of Hayti

Full title: Haytian papers, 1818. An address delivered at Bethel Church, Philadelphia: 1818. A memoir presented to the American Convention for Promoting the Abolition of Slavery, 1819 [i.e. 1818]

Full title: An inquiry into the causes of the insurrection of the Negroes in the island of St. Domingo: to which are added, observations of M. Garran-Coulon on the same subject, read in his absence by M. Guadet, before the National Assembly, 29th Feb. 1792. Bound with: An inquiry into the causes of the Negroes in the island of St. Domingo. London, 1792.

Full title: Relation authentique de tout ce qui s'est passé à Saint-Domingue avant et après le départ forcé de l'Assemblée coloniale, composée de 85 membres, sur le vaisseau de guerre le Léopard, commandé per M. de Santo-Dominguo, créole de cette isle, et bon patriote : avec la correspondance des sieurs de Peynier, gouverneur, Coutard, et autres commandants et officiers tant de terre que de mer, ennemis des colons patriotes ...

The Lafayette Collection contains materials by, to or about Lafayette and his family, with family documents extending back to 1245 and through the death of Georges Washington Lafayette in 1849. The series "Medals and Coins" covers a century and a half, up to 1931. The collection includes the oldest existing letter from Lafayette (1772), long missives he sent to his wife from America during the Revolution, other letters he wrote while imprisoned in Austria (1792-1797) and during his 1824-5 trip to the USA; texts of Lafayette's speeches, his commentary on public events, material compiled for inclusion in his memoirs, financial statements ; many letters from foreign correspondents on the progress of liberal causes in their countries, including letters from leaders of the Italian revolutionary movement; notes concerning the Belgian revolution, letters and documents on his involvement in the Italian and Polish revolutions, and documents concerning the management of family business affairs, including the management of the family estates. Some of the more remarkable documents were put on display for the exhibition "Lafayette, Citizen of Two Worlds" (October 2007-May 2008), whose electronic version is now accessible online http://rmc.library.cornell.edu/lafayette/. Particularly significant is the collection's correspondence with Jean-Pierre Boyer, the president of southern Haiti.

A major digital portal operated by the National Library of France; contains books and newspapers from the Francophone Caribbean, including Haiti.

Collection of primary sources on the Haitian Revolution and Toussaint Louverture translated in English by the volunteers of the The Marxists Internet Archive (MIA, http://www.marxists.org/)

Site showcasing a selection of books from the John Carter Brown Library that are available online through the Internet Archive. Created with the support of partners from around the world, the intent of this library is to provide access to the remarkable history of Haiti."

This digital archive brings to life hundreds of documents from Haiti's colonial past. The archive is a work in progress, so access may be limited.