Primary Sources: Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal: Introduction

Printed resource materials relating to Latin America collected by CUSLAR, including magazines, periodicals, newsletters, articles, and reports.

Covers the whole of South and Central America, plus the non-British islands of the Caribbean, from just after the final Spanish withdrawal from mainland America in the 1820s to the height of the Cold War in the 1960s.

This collection contains the periodicals that have been accumulated by the Austrian anarchist, historian and collector Max Nettlau (1865-1944), together with a number of later additions, held at the International Institute of Social History (IISH) in Amsterdam. The collection provides a richness of documentation pertaining explicitly to the formative anarchist and anarcho-syndicalist episode (1890-1920) in the history of Latin American labor movements.

Field journals; reports; lecture notes; data; films, photographs, and photograph albums; correspondence; financial records; maps; printed materials; and bird guides regarding ornithological trips taken by Lawrence Grinnell from 1939 to 1971: St. Lawrence Gulf, Churchill (Manitoba), Alaska, Southern and Western United States, Trinidad, Guatemala, Colombia, Mexico, West Indies, Tobago, British Guiana, Panama, Africa, New Zealand, Australia, the Amazon region, Brazil, Venezuela, Peru, the Antarctic, India, and Nepal; also, correspondence and a pamphlet, "The 1957-1958 New Zealand-Australia Expedition of the Laboratory of Ornithology"; materials pertaining to his dissertation A Study of the Common Redpoll; and a notebook of Cornell ornithology seminars. Also, Canoeable Waterways of New York State and Vicinity. Also, films and audiotapes.

Notes on interviews conducted by Robert J. Alexander. Almost all are typed, but also includes a few handwritten pages on which he based the typescripts. Primarily concerned with South America, Central America, and the Caribbean, also including discussion of North America, Europe, Asia, Africa, and Australia. Interviews are filed by the country or region discussed, rather than the place that the interview was held or the nationality of the speaker. Primarily documents the political and economic situation in each country, with a focus on labor relations. Other subjects discussed include foreign policy, military affairs, religion, education, and urban planning. Includes interviews with many prominent Latin American leaders including presidents, cabinet ministers, party leaders, presidents of corporations, and union leaders. Many individuals were in exile when Alexander interviewed them. He also interviewed many women–both professionals and wives of prominent men–and ordinary citizens such as taxi drivers, waiters, and chambermaids. Included are many interviews with academics and students. Some individuals were interviewed several times over the 45-year time span.

Indexed by: A guide to Latin America, 1941-1961 / edited by Paul Kesaris

Digital collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean that cover topics such as politics, economics, religion, culture, international affairs, the environment, science, and technology. The historical collections provide original manuscripts, signed letters, expedition records, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, ephemera, and more.

Digital archive with anticipated 10,000 primary-source materials. The first phase includes documents from Mexico, Argentina and the US Midwest.

A comprehensive database of primary sources on the history of science in Latin America and the Caribbean.

The HRDI is committed to the long-term preservation of fragile and vulnerable records of human rights struggles worldwide, the promotion and secure usage of human rights archival materials, and the advancement of human rights research and advocacy around the world. This collection is particularly strong for Latin America, including collections such as the Guatemalan National Police Historical Archive (AHPN) and the Museo de la Palabra y la Imagen (El Salvador).

A searchable collection of archived copies of human rights websites created by non-governmental organizations, national human rights institutions, tribunals and individuals.

Section of LANIC portal that contains a list, ordered by country, of links to the top level archived version of all ministry and presidency Web sites captured as part of the LAGDA project.

Harvard's collections of more than 5,000 scarce and unique 19th century Latin American pamphlets contain political and social commentary.

The posters included in this collection were created by a wide variety of social activists, non-governmental organizations, government agencies, political parties, and other types of organizations across Latin America, in order to publicize their views, positions, agendas, policies, events, and services. Even though posters produced in Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Ecuador, Mexico, and Venezuela are the most abundant among the more than two thousand currently available in the site, almost every country in the region is represented. In terms of topics, some of the best represented are human rights, elections, gender issues, indigenous issues, labor, ecology and environmental issues, development, public health, and education. The Latin American Posters Collection is a component of the larger collection of Latin American ephemera that Princeton University Library has developed since the 1970s.

Hundreds of photographs and prints, in albums and rare published volumes, present the territories and countries associated with Portugal and Spain in the New World, from Mexico to Argentina, and parts of the Caribbean.

Access to digitized materials from Spanish archives.