Foreign and International Law: Topics: Human Rights

Under Library link find text of annual reports, campaign reports, publications arranged by country, country reports from 1994, and selected thematic reports and news releases.

Prepared by Marci Hoffman, Lecturer in Residence; Associate Director, Law Library; International & Foreign Law Librarian University of California, Berkeley School of Law Library (updated in 2011).

Univ. of Minnesota Human Rights Library. By Marci Hoffman and David Weissbrodt.

Full-text judgments are only available from October 1996 to date, with a list of decisions from 1959. Information on pending cases, basic texts including European Convention on Human Rights and its protocols, and the Rules of Court. Speeches and press releases also available.

On GlobaLex. By James W. Hart (2011).

On GlobaLex. By Christina T. Le (2013).

From the Institute for Human Rights in Finland. Has entries for books, articles and seminar reports from 1966 on.

International conventions, comparative law bill rights collections, country, regional and international sections. No longer updated as of March 2008.

The Human Rights Organizations Database is Human Rights Internet's most comprehensive listing of institutions working in the field of human rights

The University of Minnesota Human Rights Library houses one of the largest collections of more than eighty-five thousand core human rights documents, including several hundred human rights treaties and other primary international human rights instruments. The site also provides access to more than four thousands links and a unique search device for multiple human rights sites.

Human Rights Watch, the largest human rights organization based in the United States, conducts fact-finding investigations into human rights abuses in all regions of the world, issues reports, and generates global attention on the situtation. Site has information by country and by topic.

In English and Spanish. From the Center for Human Rights and Humanitarian Law at the Washington College of Law, American University. Collection of documents adopted by the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights since its first session in 1960. Available in both English and Spanish versions. Contains reports on the Commission's individual cases and reports of its early work sessions, and will eventually include special country reports and thematic reports.

Research guide created in March 2013 by Ellen G. Schaffer, Visitiing Librarian, Pence Law Library, Washington School of Law, American University.

On GlobaLex. By Cecilia Cristina Naddeo; update by Francisco A. Avalos (2016).

INTERIGHTS defends and promotes human rights and freedoms worldwide through the use of international and comparative law.

On GlobaLex. By Grace M. Mills (2014).

A non-profit human rights organization based in San Francisco, California. Website includes resources on researching international human rights law and human rights conditions, international courts and monitoring bodies, regular updates on practical and legal developments, thematic guides on specific human rights and vulnerable groups, and related areas of international law.

By Michelle Miao.

Includes documents, publications and a searchable Treaty Bodies Database. The database was established to monitor the implementation of human rights treaties and can be searched by treaty, country, symbol, or type.

Searchable database of country conditions and statistics from its annual World Refugee Survey of 120 countries. Full-text articles on such topics as detention, internally displaced persons, repatriation, religious persecution, women and child, safe havens, etc. are also available.

Prepared by Lyonette Louis-Jacques of the University of Chicago Law Library. Last updated 2002.

On Globalex. By Sibusiso Nhlabatsi (2016).