Foreign and International Law: Topics: Arbitration

By Gloria Miccioli, Librarian, Manatt, Phelps & Phillips (updated 2011).

By Louise Tsang, Competitive Intelligence Research Associate, White & Case (updated 2011).

Globalex research guide published March/April 2022..

Select Business Policy Texts link for International Court of Arbitration and related rules, and the text of ICC public documents. Links for global business issues, the International Court of Arbitration, conferences and ICC publications.

Prepared by Lyonette Louis-Jacques of the University of Chicago Law Library (2003).

Conventions, rules, model laws, commentary, and links to other sites.

Includes rules in English, Arabic, French, German, Russian, Chinese and Spanish, with plans to add Portugese and Japanese.

Links for texts of UNCITRAL Arbitration Rules (1976), Conciliation Rules (1980), Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards (New York, 1958), UNCITRAL Model Law on International Commercial Arbitration (1985) and UNCITRAL Notes on Organizing Arbitral Proceedings (1996).

Information about the BIS, text of the statute, headquarters agreement, Hague agreement, Brussels Protocol, Constituent Charter, press releases, and texts of selected BIS publications, either full-text or excerpts. Central bank sites: http://www.bis.org/cbanks.htm.

On GlobaLex. By Don Ford (2010).

On GlobaLex. By Radu D. Popa & Mirela Roznovschi (2013).

Alphabetical arrangement of constitutions of countries of the world. Site under direction of Professor John Paul Jones, CONTACT INFORMATION John Paul Jones , Professor of Law, T.C. Williams School of Law, University of Richmond.

On GlobaLex. By Dante Figueroa and Jonathan Arendt (updated 2016).

From the New York University School of Law.

English translations of decisions from France, Germany, Austria and (soon) Italy.

In English and French.

Links to constitutions from over seventy countries with information on the constitutional background of other countries.

Commission of the Council of Europe concerned with constitutional reform. Includes the Codices opinion database.

Provides researcher with documentation and bibliographies about the 50 year process that produced the proposed constitution.

Prepared by Gail Partin, Associate Director & Law Librarian at the H. Laddie Montague, Jr. Law Library of the Dickinson School of Law of the Pennsylvania State University (updated 2011).

On Globalex. By Lyonette Louis-Jacques (updated 2013)

The ICTJ assists countries pursuing accountability for past mass atrocities or human rights abuse.

Official web page.

On GlobaLex. By Amy Burchfield (2014).

All documents (judgments, decisions, orders, and indictments) issued by the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda, which was created under Chapter 7 of the United Nations Charter to review serious violations of international humanitarian law committed in the territory of Rwanda and in neighboring states between January 1, 1994, and December 31, 1994.

All documents (judgments, decisions, orders, indictments, transcripts, and press releases) issued by the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia, which was created by the United Nations on May 23, 1993, to review serious violations of international humanitarian law committed in the territory of the former Yugoslavia after 1991. Coverage begins with 1995

Provides information on criminal and juvenile justice to an international community Links include corrections, courts, crime prevention, criminal justice statistics, drugs and crime, international, juvenile justice, law enforcement, research and evaluation.

Ongoing digitization project of the Harvard Law School Library.

Extensive documents, including Charter of the International Military Tribunal, memoranda, and Judgment of the International Military Tribunal for the Trial of German Major War Criminals.

Includes national laws, as well as international resources.

By Michelle Miao.

Includes text of Rome Statute, preliminary rules of procedure, report of the preparatory committee, and list of signatories and ratifications.

From GlobaLex (2014).

On GlobaLex. By Martin Wählisch.

Statewatch database monitors the state and civil liberties in the UK and Europe. A searchable database containing over 23,000 entries with news, features, books, pamphlets, reports, full text EU resolutions and agreements, lists of all relevant debates in the UK House of Commons & Lords, and the European Parliament, reports on the Council of Justice and Home Affairs Ministers, reports on cases in the European Court of Human Rights, and the Institute of Race Relations: European Race Audit.

Provides narrative descriptions of the criminal justice systems of 42 countries. They were completed in mid-1993, although the most recent data available for inclusion were sometimes for a year or two earlier.

Election related news and information for over 200 countries and territories from a global network of regional centers.

A collection of election laws in Arabic and either English or French from various countries throughout the Middle East and Northern Africa. It includes full texts of laws, background on the election process and detailed analysis of each law prepared by notable regional experts.

A collaborative program of research among election study teams from around the world.

Prepared by Anne Burnett, Reference/Foreign & International Law Librarian, Law Library, University of Georgia School of Law.

On GlobaLex. By Heidi Frostestad Kuehl (updated 2013).

Information about CEDAR / ISEP, databases and resources, CEDAR mailing list archives, and environmental links. Databases and resources has a collection of links for Austrian environmental information, Habitat II, European environmental links, an environmental terminology database and Central and Eastern European newsletters.

The Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora is an international agreement between governments. In English, French and Spanish.

Summary of the environmental laws of the U.S., Canada and Mexico, texts of international agreements, and related sites. Select CEC Resources and Publications for Law Infobase (law summaries) or Information Center for treaties.

Environmental law gateway.

Gateway to the websites of a huge number of environmental organizations and interest groups around the world, includikng the Central and Eastern European EcoDirectory Project, the Earth Council, the Eco- Justice Network, and the FAQ. Also includes a collection of documents such as the 1992 Convention on Biological Diversity, a link to transnational environmental law cases.

Online browsing and searching for information about environmental treaties and national resource indicators. Provides multiple search options including free text index, and chronological, alphabetical, and subject area list of treaties. Also thematic guides on searching for environmental treaties and links for cooperating institutions. Former link: Policy Instruments Database-Consortium for International Earth Science Info Network.

Links to international organizations, international policy and legislation, information by country and subject.

Links for documents, databases, and press releases concerning environmental policy of the European Union and Member States.

A legislative database, one of the world's largest electronic collections of national laws and regulations on food, agriculture and renewable natural resources. From Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.

Links to multilateral conventions, private and public international law on environmental law issues. Includes Law of the Sea Convention.

Focuses on Hastings Law Library collection and Internet sources. Includes International Environmental Law bibliography, Articles, Websites, United Nations Resources, Environmental Law Treaties,Congressional Research Service Reports, and Hearings and other Government Documents

Governing body of the Convention Protection of the Marine Environment of the Baltic Sea Area. Full-text of 1974 and 1992 conventions.

United Nations Division for Ocean Affairs and the Law of the Sea. Includes a database of national laws and maritime boundary agreements.

On GlobaLex. By Arundhati Ashok Satkalmi (updated 2013).

In English from the Mekong Regional Law Center.

Includes key agreements on international environmental law.

On GlobaLex. By Marylin Johnson Raisch (updated 2013)

From the University of California at Berkeley.

From Washington University (2005).

Globalex research guide updated April 2014.