Foreign and International Law: Topics: Environment

Prepared by Anne Burnett, Reference/Foreign & International Law Librarian, Law Library, University of Georgia School of Law.

On GlobaLex. By Heidi Frostestad Kuehl.

Information about CEDAR / ISEP, databases and resources, CEDAR mailing list archives, and environmental links. Databases and resources has a collection of links for Austrian environmental information, Habitat II, European environmental links, an environmental terminology database and Central and Eastern European newsletters.

The Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora is an international agreement between governments. In English, French and Spanish.

Summary of the environmental laws of the U.S., Canada and Mexico, texts of international agreements, and related sites. Select CEC Resources and Publications for Law Infobase (law summaries) or Information Center for treaties.

Environmental law gateway.

Gateway to the websites of a huge number of environmental organizations and interest groups around the world, includikng the Central and Eastern European EcoDirectory Project, the Earth Council, the Eco- Justice Network, and the FAQ. Also includes a collection of documents such as the 1992 Convention on Biological Diversity, a link to transnational environmental law cases.

Online browsing and searching for information about environmental treaties and national resource indicators. Provides multiple search options including free text index, and chronological, alphabetical, and subject area list of treaties. Also thematic guides on searching for environmental treaties and links for cooperating institutions. Former link: Policy Instruments Database-Consortium for International Earth Science Info Network.

Links to international organizations, international policy and legislation, information by country and subject.

Links for documents, databases, and press releases concerning environmental policy of the European Union and Member States.

A legislative database, one of the world's largest electronic collections of national laws and regulations on food, agriculture and renewable natural resources. From Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.

Links to multilateral conventions, private and public international law on environmental law issues. Includes Law of the Sea Convention.

Focuses on Hastings Law Library collection and Internet sources. Includes International Environmental Law bibliography, Articles, Websites, United Nations Resources, Environmental Law Treaties,Congressional Research Service Reports, and Hearings and other Government Documents

Governing body of the Convention Protection of the Marine Environment of the Baltic Sea Area. Full-text of 1974 and 1992 conventions.

United Nations Division for Ocean Affairs and the Law of the Sea. Includes a database of national laws and maritime boundary agreements.

On GlobaLex. By Arundhati Ashok Satkalmi (updated 2013).

In English from the Mekong Regional Law Center.

Includes key agreements on international environmental law.