Foreign and International Law: Topics: Criminal Law and Criminal Tribunals

Prepared by Gail Partin, Associate Director & Law Librarian at the H. Laddie Montague, Jr. Law Library of the Dickinson School of Law of the Pennsylvania State University (updated 2011).

On Globalex. By Lyonette Louis-Jacques (updated 2013)

The ICTJ assists countries pursuing accountability for past mass atrocities or human rights abuse.

Official web page.

On GlobaLex. By Amy Burchfield (2014).

All documents (judgments, decisions, orders, and indictments) issued by the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda, which was created under Chapter 7 of the United Nations Charter to review serious violations of international humanitarian law committed in the territory of Rwanda and in neighboring states between January 1, 1994, and December 31, 1994.

All documents (judgments, decisions, orders, indictments, transcripts, and press releases) issued by the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia, which was created by the United Nations on May 23, 1993, to review serious violations of international humanitarian law committed in the territory of the former Yugoslavia after 1991. Coverage begins with 1995

Provides information on criminal and juvenile justice to an international community Links include corrections, courts, crime prevention, criminal justice statistics, drugs and crime, international, juvenile justice, law enforcement, research and evaluation.

Ongoing digitization project of the Harvard Law School Library.

Extensive documents, including Charter of the International Military Tribunal, memoranda, and Judgment of the International Military Tribunal for the Trial of German Major War Criminals.

Includes national laws, as well as international resources.

By Michelle Miao.

Includes text of Rome Statute, preliminary rules of procedure, report of the preparatory committee, and list of signatories and ratifications.

From GlobaLex (2014).

On GlobaLex. By Martin Wählisch.

Statewatch database monitors the state and civil liberties in the UK and Europe. A searchable database containing over 23,000 entries with news, features, books, pamphlets, reports, full text EU resolutions and agreements, lists of all relevant debates in the UK House of Commons & Lords, and the European Parliament, reports on the Council of Justice and Home Affairs Ministers, reports on cases in the European Court of Human Rights, and the Institute of Race Relations: European Race Audit.

Provides narrative descriptions of the criminal justice systems of 42 countries. They were completed in mid-1993, although the most recent data available for inclusion were sometimes for a year or two earlier.