- Bureau of International Labor Affairs (U.S. Dept. of Labor)The mission of the Bureau of International Labor Affairs (ILAB) is to improve global working conditions, raise living standards, protect workers' ability to exercise their rights, and address the workplace exploitation of children and other vulnerable populations. ILAB conducts and funds rigorous research on international labor institutions, practices, and trends, including the Foreign Labor Trends (FLT) report series.
- CIA World FactbookThe World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
- Country Commercial Guides (U.S. Commercial Service)Contains over 200 substantive country-specific guides for U.S. companies doing business in the global environment.
- Doing Business (World Bank)Contains comparative information on employing workers and other factors for consideration when doing business in 183 global economies. The new name for the project is Business Enabling Environment (BEE).
- ELDISEldis aims to share the best in development, policy, practice and research.
- European Industrial Relations DictionaryContains almost 300 of the most commonly used terms in employment and industrial relations at EU level today.
- European Monitoring Centre on Change (EMCC)EMCC identifies, assesses and processes relevant information on the driving forces of change in the European economy, which can be searched by browsing the matrix or by topic, sector or country. EMCC is a division of the European Foundation for the Improvement of Living and Working Conditions.
- EurWORK: the European Observatory of Working LifeEurofound’s long-established observatories on industrial relations (EIRO) and working conditions (EWCO) have now been combined to form EurWORK: the European Observatory of Working Life. EurWORK gathers all Eurofound's resources on working conditions and industrial relations, and is supported by a network of European correspondents across all EU Member States and Norway. Eurofound runs two regular surveys on working life issues: the European Working Conditions Survey (EWCS) and the European Company Survey (ECS).
- Foreign Company Research (LOC)A guide to researching foreign companies.
- Globalization and the Workplace (DigitalCommons@ILR)Portal for documentation on the effects of globalization on workers and working conditions, labor relations, and social movements.
- ILO DatabasesThe International Labor Organization provides a wealth of information on 186 nations. Their databases help guide you to the correct sources. Scroll down to LaborDoc, http://labordoc.ilo.org, to search journal articles recommended by the ILO as well as its own reports.
- Law Databases: Foreign LawList of Foreign Law Databases from the Cornell Law Library.
- Library of Congress Country StudiesProvides a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
- Social Security Programs Throughout the WorldThis publication highlights the principal features of social security programs in more than 170 countries: old-age, disability, and survivors; sickness and maternity; work injury; unemployment; and family allowances.
- U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets (U.S. Department of State)These publications (formerly called Background Notes) include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty. The Background Notes are updated/revised by the Office of Electronic Information and Publications of the Bureau of Public Affairs as they are received from the Department's regional bureaus.
- United States International Trade Commission (USITC): Industry & Economic Analysis, Working Papers and Staff ResearchThe USITC is an independent, quasijudicial Federal agency with broad investigative responsibilities on matters of trade. The agency investigates the effects of dumped and subsidized imports on domestic industries and conducts global safeguard investigations. The Commission also adjudicates cases involving imports that allegedly infringe intellectual property rights. Through such proceedings, the agency facilitates a rules-based international trading system. The Commission also serves as a Federal resource where trade data and other trade policy-related information are gathered and analyzed.
- Work and Retirement in the EUThis portal helps the user navigate the issues involved with EU business and employment.
- Expat ExchangeInformation about living, working, traveling, and doing business overseas. Articles, reference guides, navigation by country, Online Forum, Newsletter, classifieds, and housing information.
- Global Edge Culture Resource Desk (Michigan State University)Advice and resources on international business etiquette and culture.
- SHRM: Global HRThe Society for Human Resource Management provides a "focus area" on global issues, including articles, country guides, and hot topics. Membership is required to access some of the content.
- Travel and Living Abroad (U.S. Dept. of State)Publications cover security information, general travel and consular information, doing business and living overseas, and links to non-State Department sites such as currency exchange and health information.
- Asian Pacific American Labor Alliance (APALA)APALA is a national organization of Asian Pacific American union members affiliated with the AFL-CIO; the organization organizes and works with Asian Pacific American workers, many of them immigrants, to build the labor movement and address exploitative conditions. Their web site contains information about their activities, a directory of chapters, and news about issues of interest.
- EurofoundEurofound, the European Foundation for the Improvement of Living and Working Conditions, is a European Union body, one of the first to be established to work in specialised areas of EU policy. Specifically, it was set up by the European Council (Council Regulation (EEC) No. 1365/75 of 26 May 1975), to contribute to the planning and design of better living and working conditions in Europe.
- European Union Official WebsiteA coordinated effort by EU institutions under the auspices of the Commission. Includes information on the EU's goals, policies and agendas, 'On the Record' official EU documents, links to EU homepages, online publications, services and statistics. Good place to start EU research on the web.
- International Association for Human Resource Information ManagementMembership information. Conference information. Management Resources Center with information on intranets, job descriptions, salaries. White papers. Buyer's Guide. Links to other Internet resources. Keyword searching ability is forthcoming. Not as extensive as the SHRM site, but it looks like they are working towards that with many areas "under construction."
- International Trade Union Confederation (ITUC)The International Trade Union Confederation (ITUC) is the main international trade union organisation, representing the interests of working people worldwide. The ITUC was founded at its inaugural Congress in Vienna, Austria, on 1 -3 November 2006. It groups together the former affiliates of the International Confederation of Free Trade Unions (ICFTU) and the World Confederation of Labour (WCL), along with trade union organisations which had no global affiliation. Its web site, which can be read in English, French, German, or Spanish, contains its documents and publications on child labour, equality, globalisation & economic affairs, multinational enterprises, health & safety, organising, trade union rights, and trade & labor standards.
- International Labor Communications Association (ILCA)ILCA is the professional organization for labor journalists & communicators in North America; current web site offerings include educational materials on writing, photography and a list of ILCA members.
- International Labour OrganizationThe International Labour Organization (ILO) promotes rights at work, encourages decent employment opportunities, enhances social protection and strengthens dialogue in handling work-related issues.
- International Public Management AssociationIssues important to public sector managers and employees. Center for Personnel Research provides sample policies and other guidance to members, but non-members can view samples such as "NYS Internet Acceptable Use." Government Affairs, Training, and Global HR are among other topics. Benchmarking information for members.
- International Statistical Institute (ISI)"The ISI mission is to promote the understanding, development and good practice of statistics worldwide."
- Labor Council for Latin American Advancement (LCLAA)LCLAA is the official Latino constituency group of the AFL-CIO, and works towards greater participation of Hispanics within the labor movement and for better working conditions for all Latino workers. Their web site keeps you up-to-date with their activities and chapter events.
- Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)OECD brings together the governments of countries committed to democracy and the market economy from around the world to: Support sustainable economic growth; Boost employment; Raise living standards; Maintain financial stability; Assist other countries' economic development; Contribute to growth in world trade; etc.
- Trade Union Advisory Committee (TUAC)The Trade Union Advisory Committee (TUAC) to the OECD is an interface for trade unions with the OECD. It is an international trade union organisation which has consultative status with the OECD and its various committees.
- United States Council for International BusinessPromotes open markets, competitiveness and innovation, sustainable development and corporate responsibility. Site provides access to its journal as well as policy papers.
- World Employment ConfederationTrade organization representing the global employment industry (formerly International Confederation of Private Employment Agencies).
- World Federation of People Management Associations (WFPMA)The WFPMA is a global network of professionals in people management. It was founded in 1976 to aid the development and improve the effectiveness of professional people management all over the world. Its members are predominantly the continental federations which are made up of more than 70 national personnel associations representing over 400,000 people management professionals.
- World Federation of Trade UnionsProvides overview of issues affecting trade unions in the world.
- EPLexThe ILO's Employment protection legislation database. EPLex provides information on key topics that are regularly examined in national and comparative studies on employment termination legislation. The information is broken down to cover more than 50 variables, and will be updated annually to facilitate analysis of impacts and trends over time. EPLex replaces the ILO's existing Digest on Termination of Employment Legislation.
- Labour Law (International Labor Organization)Gateway to international and country-specific legal information.
- NATLEXAn ILO database of national labour, social security and related human rights legislation.
- NORMLEXAn ILO database of international labour standards as well as national labour and social security laws
- World Law Portals (Cornell Law Library)Provides links to Internet sources for world law.
- CEPALSTAT Databases (Latin America and Caribbean)Find statistics, starting in some cases with 1950!
- Complete World Development Report OnlineA new online, open access, collection of all World Development Reports since 1978 was launched today by the World Bank. The Complete World Development Report Online, which allows users to easily access and search across these World Bank annual flagship publications, is free and open to the public.
- EurostatEurostat is the statistical office of the European Union. It provides the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.
- International Labor ComparisonsSome international statistics are collected by the U. S. Bureau of Labor Statistics and made available from this site.
- ILOSTATThe ILO's database of statistics, contains over 100 indicators covering more than 230 countries and economies. The Yearly indicators dataset contains standardized indicators for purposes of greater comparability across countries and relies heavily on the official submission of data by national authorities. The Short term indicators dataset contains monthly, quarterly and semi-annual data drawn from official websites of national authorities and is updated on a monthly basis. Additional data and tools are available from the site. This database replaces LABORSTA.
- ILO Statistical Data, Union(Information about database. Database must be requested.) The ILO has created a database on trade union membership. It contains data for 45 countries from 1990-Available in Excel files on request from the ILO Bureau of Statistics.
- International Statistical AgenciesComprehensive list by country, compiled by the U. S. Census Bureau. NOTE: Scroll to bottom of web page for the list.
- OECD Statistics (OECD.Stat)OECD.Stat is the statistical online platform of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development where users can search and access OECD's statistical databases. Build tables, download data, and view methodology and sources. Browse by theme or country or search for data.
- Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development Data PortalOECD brings together the governments of countries committed to democracy and the market economy from around the world to: Support sustainable economic growth; Boost employment; Raise living standards; Maintain financial stability; Assist other countries' economic development; Contribute to growth in world trade
- UNdata: Country ProfilesSearch and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies. The numerous databases or tables collectively known as "datamarts" contain over 60 million data points and cover a wide range of statistical themes including agriculture, crime, communication, development assistance, education, energy, environment, finance, gender, health, labour market, manufacturing, national accounts, population and migration, science and technology, tourism, transport and trade.
- Center for Economic Research and Policy (CEPR):Provides general information and analysis of current economic issues in the US.
- GATS-Fact and Fiction (World Trade Organization)Information about the GATS treaty. Circa 2001.
- Global Policy ForumProvides overview of globalization, including separate analyses of the economy, trade, world economic forums, export processing zones, corporate strategies, NGOs, politics, culture, law, tables and charts on globalization, and links to other resources
- Yale Center for the Study of GlobalizationUndertakes research and conferences and publishes news articles on key global issues of economic development, governance, multilateral trade, health, peace and security, and the environment.
Indian Government Websites
International Work Stoppage Statistics
- Industrial Disputes, 2004-Present (Australian Bureau of Statistics)A monthly report by the Australian Bureau of Statistics. It includes work stoppage statistics on number, duration, employees involved, working days lost, industry, and region.
- Canadian Strikes Subject Guide (Univ. of Toronto)A comprehensive research guide compiled by the University of Toronto's College of Industrial Relations and Human Resources Library. Contains links to resources for historical strikes, work stoppage statistics, labor legislation, and more.
- Conflit du Travail et Grève (French Ministry of Labor)The French Ministry of Labor's yearly report on strikes and labor disputes. From 2002 to present.
- Workplace Disputes and Working Conditions (UK Office for National Statistics)Contains links to contemporary and historical (from 1891) work stoppage statistics in the United Kingdom.