Skip to main content

Art History and Visual Studies: A Research Guide: Cite

This research guide to art history and visual studies emphasizes reference resources and databases available to members of the Cornell community through the Cornell University Library.

CAA Style Guidelines

The College Art Association has a series of guidelines (based on the Chicago Manual of Style) for image captions.

Zotero

Manage Information using Citation Software/PDF organizers/Image managers

Use citation management/pdf organizing software to save time and energy organizing and citing research materials.  Zotero was designed for humanities and social sciences research. Developed at The Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University, it is particularly suited for historical sources.

Zotero

Zotero is a free, open source, web-based tool for managing citations, organizing pdfs,  and    creating bibliographies.

For advice choosing a citation manager or managing information, contact us for a consultation!

ZoteroBib

Research materialsZoteroBib is a free, quick, and easy bibliography and citation maker that saves time and trouble.

Add sources using the ZoteroBib search box. Then, copy and paste the complete bibliography (or footnotes or in-text citations) into your paper in the citation style of your choice.  (Note: As great as ZoteroBib is, it isn't perfect. Check your citations carefully using citation style guides or ask a librarian.)

ZoteroBib link

Cited Reference Searching

In addition to Google Scholar, a number of subscription databases allow you to track the flow of research by including ways to identify references that cite or are cited by other scholarly sources. This is a quick, although perhaps not comprehensive, way to gauge the impact of individual publications. Consult the Cited Reference Searching guide for detailed instructions in performing cited reference searches.

Cite sources: Chicago Style

Chicago Manual of Style Citation Style

Chicago Manual of Style online

Frequently asked questions

In print:

The Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed.)
Olin Library Ref Z253 .U69 2017 (located at the Olin Reference Desk)

The Purdue Online Writing Lab gives excellent examples (for footnotes/endnotes and bibliographies) on how to cite using the Chicago citation style: books, periodicals, web sources, film & television, and much more.

Examples for how to cite an image using the Chicago Style, from the Colgate University Visual Resources Library

Cite sources accurately in order to use information ethically and responsibly

MLA Citation Style


MLA Style Center (MLA's web site)
Provides some FAQ's; however, this site does not provide the full style manual online.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (8th ed.)
Olin LB2369 .G53 2016 (located at the Reference Desk)

Purdue's OWL (Online Writing Lab) MLA Formatting and Style Guide

Web Accessibility Assistance